you're reading...
bleg, BLOGGER, computer, SNAFU, The Internet, whining

Computer SNAFU Bleg

Emphasis on Eff ME!
For the past couple weeks, my computer has been running slower, and slower…and slower.  AND not connecting well.  And dropping connection.
I did all the analyses, and have been operating on the premise that while I reside in the 6th largest metro area in the U.S., I’m in a dead spot.
My ex-gf has to go out to the carport to obtain a decent cellular telephone signal.
So, my broadband connection is sometimes iffy.  Well, ALWAYS iffy.  And slow, and finicky.
Yesterday, most of the blogs to which I tried to connect, didn’t…or took forever.
I finally came up with the bright idea to switch back to IE9 (shudder!) from Firefox.
That’s made an amazing difference!!!  Who knew?  The whole reason I went to Firefox in the first place was IE9 and Blogger weren’t getting along.
And I DO try to blog.
My resident computer geek suggests I reload Firefox.  I’m reluctant because of all the stuff I’ve saved and have resident therein.  But I don’t like IE9.
Suggestions?

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Computer SNAFU Bleg

  1. You might try google chrome. I've been using it for quite a long time. It looks a little stripped down and takes an adjustment shifting from IE or firefox, but it has worked well for me. During installation, you can import all your favorites from IE or Firefox.

    Posted by kx59 | November 15, 2011, 7:51 am
  2. There is an option on Firefox to download a cleancopy and then restore your settings from the previous incarnation. Worked for me.

    Posted by Anonymous | November 15, 2011, 7:55 am
  3. Thanks. I used Chrome once before and wasn't all that thrilled with it, but, that was on an older computer.I think I'll try reloading FF and if I'm unhappy with the result, maybe try Chrome again.Eventually some 14 year old kid will figure out a way to make all this like TV, just turn on the machine and everything works!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | November 15, 2011, 7:56 am
  4. Cool, Anonymous! I'll look into that, first!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | November 15, 2011, 7:58 am
  5. Opera.

    Posted by ASM826 | November 15, 2011, 9:45 am
  6. My personal thoughts, I prefer Firefox for it's overall security, and the companies attitude to fix security issues as soon as they are found.Chrome is a fast, sweet browser, but I don't trust it because of Google. I've read articles regarding its security issues. I don't use Google Picassa ( the photo software ). One day I stumbled into that via the fact I was logged into BLOGGER and there was every photo I had uploaded into Blogger and some I hadn't but were on my hard drive. From what I read this was due to Chrome. I never authorized this….just my humble opinion… thanks

    Posted by Matt | November 15, 2011, 9:46 am
  7. Thanks ASM826 and Matt!I just reloaded Firefox 8.0. It saved my settings, email, home page and blogs – without me having to do any geek stuff!The question now, is will it continue to work?Time will tell.Worst case scenario, I'll try Chrome.Who knows?Will post here as to results of the reload.

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | November 15, 2011, 10:08 am
  8. Ten hours later, Firefox is working better than before the reload.If things degrade, I'll change things!Thanks all, gfa

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | November 15, 2011, 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 312 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 148,825 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

