you're reading...
gunnies, guns, tradition, TV PI

Name Your Gun?

My favorite gun, thankfully, was on my person when the burglars took my 800 pound gun safe.
(Note to self, and all - bolt your safe into the wall and foundation, even if it weighs 800 pounds!)
She’s been previously described - a custom Colt NM slide over a Vega frame, Bo-Mar sighted, Swenson ambi-safetied, Micro-bushinged masterpiece.
I christened her the B.H.S.M., after the previous owner:  The Bob Hall Signature Model.
A lady friend names all her firearms:  Betsy (akin to Mike Hammer’s gat), Precious (a Silence of the Lambs reference) and many others.  She calls the BHSM Bobbie, as guns should have female names.
Of course, the most famous gun name in recent history is from the Sci-Fi cult hit Firefly, wherein Jayne Cobb tries to trade his favorite rifle Vera, for Captain Mal Reynolds ‘wife’ Saffron.  Fair is fair, right?
Do you name your firearms?  Or just a special one?  Is the naming in keeping with the time-honored tradition of naming machines women’s names?

Jayne, with Vera

Inquiring minds want to know.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

20 thoughts on “Name Your Gun?

  1. Would you believe I named my carry piece after a beautiful undercover agent?My wife names all of hers.

    Posted by North | November 28, 2011, 7:39 am
  2. @North – Was that comment in Maxwell Smart's voice? And, yes, I believe it.

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | November 28, 2011, 7:47 am
  3. I don't know if I have 'one' favorite gun, if it had to be a rifle it would be my M1A Springfield. I don't name mine though.

    Posted by Duke | November 28, 2011, 7:52 am
  4. I don't. My sister does.

    Posted by Well Seasoned Fool | November 28, 2011, 8:08 am
  5. I don't, although I was tempted to do so with the CVA mountain rifle I carried during my buckskinning era (the '80s). Never did, though.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | November 28, 2011, 8:25 am
  6. I name my firearms. My Tokorev SVT-40 is named Natasha and my Springfield XDm9 is named Alexa which derrives from Alexander which in Greek means "Protector of Man".Yes I name my guns, but I don't name my cars and for me, personally, I keep with female names for my guns. Perhaps because you see mothers in nature viciously protect their young is the reason that I choose female names for my guns.

    Posted by Southern Belle | November 28, 2011, 9:27 am
  7. "In Vera Veritas"(runs and hides)

    Posted by Tomi | November 28, 2011, 9:53 am
  8. No. Or my vehicles.

    Posted by bluesun | November 28, 2011, 11:39 am
  9. My Beretta is named Buffy. And each sword in the collection has a name, too, but those are male.

    Posted by LeeAnn | November 28, 2011, 12:53 pm
  10. I don't name my guns. Guns are tools, and it'd be like naming my circular saw or Kitchenaid mixer. But that is/was a great clip from Firefly, as is Mal's response, "Well my days of not taking you seriously are certainly coming to a middle."

    Posted by ExurbanKevin | November 28, 2011, 1:20 pm
  11. I named my M16 I'm issued in the Army after DW. Because everyone thinks she has no kick until they stand in front of her muzzle…

    Posted by TinCan Assassin | November 28, 2011, 1:51 pm
  12. Never could understand naming tools, but that is just me. I'd run out of names if I was to name all my guns, vehicles, screwdrivers, wrenches, etc.

    Posted by BobG | November 28, 2011, 3:09 pm
  13. I have a couple with names. My 10/22 is "Conan the Borg." My wife bought it for me for Father's Day the first year we were married (instant family – her daughter was 15 at the time). Within about 12 days it had a bull barrel, thumbhole Fajen stock and WAY too much scope mounted on it. She took one look and said "Is that the cute little rifle I bought you? It's technologically barbaric!" Thus, Conan the Borg.The second gun that has a name is my Thompson Center Encore with a 15" Bullberry .260 Remington barrel. I posted a picture of it on the blog, and one reader said his wife saw it and said "That's not a gun, that's a power tool!" So it's "The Power Tool."

    Posted by Kevin Baker | November 28, 2011, 3:48 pm
  14. The Glock is St Christopher, for reasons I hope would be obvious. None of the others have names, and to be fair "St Christopher" is more of a title than a name.

    Posted by Larry | November 29, 2011, 3:16 pm
  15. @Larry – could have chosen St. Joseph? "Two in the mouth." (sorry)

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | November 29, 2011, 7:16 pm
  16. Glock 17 = Bruce, after Bruce Willis. My wife wanted a gun she could "run down the hall shooting and not have to count, like Bruce Willis."Glock 21SF = The DukeGlock 19 = LibertyRuger 10/22 = Steve Rogers before modification, Captain America after modification. Browning Buck Mark – Bucky. Captain America's sidekick.Mossberg 500 = Lee, for the first owner.Mosin Nagant = Vassily, for Vassily Zaitsev.SKS = Sergei, for Sergei Simonov.I find that names makes it easier in public to talk about them without raising eyebrows.If you do a search for these names on my blog you can find out more.

    Posted by Fill Yer Hands | December 1, 2011, 10:37 am
  17. @Fill Yer Hands – Interesting choices! Will do.

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | December 1, 2011, 1:37 pm
  18. I named one a few years ago. Tisiphone.

    Posted by ASM826 | December 2, 2011, 2:26 pm
  19. @ASM826 – I had to Google it, but, good choice!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | December 2, 2011, 9:21 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 262 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 124,126 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

