you're reading...
.45 ACP, ammunition, debate

125 Grain Hollow Point Bullet For .45 ACP?

Here @ Guffaw in AZ, well welcome all comers with reasoned arguments.  I ran across this on the Internet, however and it gave me pause.
Is THIS a reasoned argument?

125 Grain Hollow Point Bullet For .45 ACP?

Now, personally, I’m a fan of heavy, slow .45 ACP rounds.  230 grain, anyway, modern hollow point preferred.
(but ball will do in a pinch!).  I DO understand that .357 loads used in  the city will penetrate people, buildings, most car doors.  So my preference is for .45 ACP and .38 Special.  For the urban environment, anyway.  Recognizing that a 12 gauge is better, but less socially acceptable.  And perhaps more difficult to conceal.

Anyway, this intrigued me, at least as an intellectual exercise.  I’m certain that Jeff Cooper, John Thompson and Julian Hatcher are spinning in their graves.

h/t The Gun Wire (TM), Ammoland

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “125 Grain Hollow Point Bullet For .45 ACP?

  1. guffaw1952, Thanks for having an open mind about my idea, we fifties children (1954 for me) can be pretty set in our ways, but as a retired safety director and coal miner I tend to work from experience to make things better. If you want to see the easy way to do something (not necessarily the safest) just give the job to a coal miner. There is no doubt that 230 grain hollow points are better than 230 grain FMJ’s for most anything except complying with the Geneva Convention and that they have done the job for many years, but a lighter, faster, bullet with more energy that will do the job more efficiently can be had using less lead (and therefore money) and be less weight for these old bones to carry. I figured it up and I think a box of 125 grain .45 ACP rounds would be about 1/3 of a pound less to carry than 230 grain ones. Jeff Cooper, like the rest, learned to use what was issued or available (and then got set in their ways), I think I could even convince them (if they were still around) if I could just get the bullets made to show them.

    Let me bounce another bullet idea off of your intellect, what about a125 grain FMJ .45 ACP round with an aluminum core around a steel penetrator in a copper jacket for the military? It would act as a normal FMJ in soft targets to comply with the Geneva Convention but deliver a steel penetrator to enemy soldiers or terrorists wearing vests. The steel penetrator really improved the little .22 that our soldiers are required to carry.

    Posted by Anonymous | April 26, 2012, 1:34 pm
  2. I suspect a 125-gr round in a .45 might not be subsonic; it would almost certainly be a lot faster than a heavier projectile. The 185-gr HP rounds I sometimes use are almost 300 fps faster than the 230 gr equivalent. So I compromised with a 200-gr +P round with an expanding full metal jacket. It’s a bit faster than either.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 26, 2012, 1:51 pm
  3. The lead 125/127 grain bullet works, it took me a long time to find a way to have the mold made. I have shot it at 1,650 fps, it is accurate and expands better than 185 and 230 grain hollow points in my experience. You can see the bullet on sscastbullets.com (I gave them some of my bullets to test, they have the bullet as a 130 grain bullet). It casts out of the mold I had made between 127 and 130 depending on the alloy. Jeff Cooper would roll over in his grave if he could shoot some of these bullets… as they unleash the full potential of the .45 ACP.

    Posted by Norris Dyer | October 28, 2013, 7:03 pm
    • Wow, Norris…it’s been a while since I posted this (?)
      Regardless, I did find this suggestion an interesting exercise.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | October 28, 2013, 7:21 pm
    • I’m very intrigued by the 127 gr up. In looking for the most effective defense bullet for my 1911. I also have a XD-S. I want expansion, high energy release with out going through what i might have to shoot. Sounds like you may have the same thoughts. I’m getting ready to start casting bullets and found your proposal on Ammoland. How can iI get a copy of your mold?

      Posted by Anonymous | January 1, 2014, 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 138,086 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 290 other followers

