you're reading...
agenda, America, common sense, culture, dysfunction, political correctness, progressive, toughness

Political Correctness will be the Death of us!

Both The Duck and Old NFO have recently addressed the problems inherent with political correctness.

The Duck takes the macro approach – viewing it from the standpoint of relations between countries and the way the United States used to be thought of, versus the way they are viewed now.

Old NFO takes the more personal approach.  His quote from the U.S. State Department:

Chief Diversity Officer John Robinson penned a column in the department’s latest edition of “State Magazine ” advising readers on some rather obscure Ps and Qs.

Chief Diversity Officer?  Seriously?

Old NFO goes on to say:

You ‘really’ have to wonder if this is all these people have to do every day is sit around and think up crap like this…  I realize it IS Foggy Bottom, the bastion of oh so social and politically connected Staties, who hate the military (and do everything they can to prevent military action), but come on… GET A LIFE!

Punctuated by The Duck:

America was once of the strongest brashest countries in the world, we said what we thought and meant what we said. If some podunk country messed with us we sent in gun boats and the Marines, and burned them down. The rest of the world learned not to mess around when it came to the United States, but shortly after we changed the name of the “War Dept” (as it likely offended some of the liberals), to the “Dept.Of Defense”, we also started adopting those warm fuzzies, adopting terms like compromise, worrying more about how we said something than what we were saying(emphasis Guffaw)

Whether it’s more about the guy across the street, or across the World, we need to maintain our standards and integrity.  And stand up for ourselves, both personally and as a country.

This doesn’t mean be a bully or a bigot.  But recognize that we are judged by what we do, not just by what we say.

Calling the Fort Hood massacre ‘workplace violence’ instead of terrorism is an obscenity.  The man was exclaiming “Allahu Akhbar!” while performing his murders.  We’re too much in Condition White as a country, scouring the Rules of Engagement looking for loopholes instead of engaging.

Go to both links above and read.  Then allow yourself to say Indian instead of Native American, and allow your country to use the word terrorist instead of criminal, when it’s appropriate.

Yeah, I know.  I’m politically incorrect.  So what?

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Political Correctness will be the Death of us!

  1. My only objection to using “Indian” for “Native Americans” is that I think it’s confusing. Since a lot of Indians live here (and more are coming all the time – there’s a Hindu temple in my neighborhood) using the term “Indian” to reference the native peoples of the Americas gets a little confusing. Especially as I live right next door to a reservation, so I have large populations of both groups in my area.
    I’m not saying I’m a fan of “Native American”, after all, I’m native American – I was born here. But, I don’t know of a better term that’s widely understood.
    So, until a better solution is found, I’ll continue to say “Indian” for people from India or of Indian ethnicity, and “Native American” for those descended from the pre-Columbian tribes.

    Posted by Tomi | September 4, 2012, 8:19 am
  2. Thanks and nice tie to the Duck’s post!

    Posted by Old NFO | September 4, 2012, 8:27 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 152,801 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

