you're reading...
agenda, alcohol, American Heroes, dysfunction, gimps, gun culture, guns, military, opinion

Charity

courtesy of Proud Hillbilly

Talk about shooting oneself in the foot!

The Wounded Warrior Project, who obviously assists wounded veterans and their families has done just that.  They recently refused to participate in a firearms-oriented radio talk show, which would have brought them great publicity and additional support.  An email exchange between their PR flack and the radio producer produced evidence that they do not organizationally support Second Amendment Rights.

Our position regarding firearms and alcohol is in response to the struggles that many injured service members face with substance abuse and suicide and the roles those items often play in those issues.

What?!

Pro-civil-rights-bloggers are dropping them from their blog sidebars like hot machine gun barrels.  Hopefully, other big supported like Anheuser-Busch are doing the same.

As am I.

I’m substituting the charity Soldier’s Angels in their stead.

This reminded me of many years ago, before I was married.  I was looking into the Big Brothers/Big Sisters organization, with the possibility of perhaps sponsoring one.  They, too, seemed to do great work.  A local news story surfaced, wherein the regional chapter denied a decorated, veteran police officer Big Brother status, because he insisted on having his gun with him!  Now, I don’t know (or particularly care) if this was a local, regional or national policy decision.  It soured the organization for me.  I didn’t pursue the status further, and give them no money.  And tell all who will listen the story.

There are many worthy charities out there.  I wish I had the resources to help them, but, I do not.  But, I can put them on my sidebar and send them five or ten dollars when I have it.  Which is not very often.

But I’ve expectations of those I support.  They don’t need to actively support gun rights, HOWEVER, disparaging firearm possession and furthering propaganda lies are another thing altogether.

Please support Soldier’s Angels.

(Update – WWP is backpedaling all over the place.  Too little, too late in my view – Guffaw)

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Charity

  1. I looked up Soldier’s Angels on Charity Navigator. They have a perfect score in “transparency and accountability” but they are fairly low in the financials department, resulting in a two star rating. This means they need money! They appear to be a very worthy organization. Their founder and president takes no compensation whatsoever, very admirable.

    I have no comment on the Wounded Warrior Project, but agree with you that there are plenty of worthy organizations to choose to support. My personal favorite military-related charity is Fisher House Foundation, which provides housing for military families close to military hospitals either overseas or in the USA, so that they can be there while their wounded family member recuperates from injuries received on the battlefield.

    It’s the season of giving! Every bit makes a difference to someone who needs it.

    Posted by Tomi | November 15, 2012, 8:04 am
  2. When my great-Uncle Worley ran a boarding house in Alaska during WWII, a G.I. hung himself in one of the rooms. Guns, alcohol, drugs, high bridges, ropes – it’s not about the method because a method will be found if the person wants to commit suicide.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | November 15, 2012, 8:21 am
  3. Agreed. I read about this last night on one of the gun forums I frequent.
    They’ve really shot themselves in the foot on this one. WWP’s high level officers sure do make so me good dough. I bet those guys have a pretty good expense account too…

    LIke Tomi noted about Soldier’s Angels, Charity Navigator gives the Paralyzed Veterans of America a very low rating in finances but top of the charts in transparency, resulting in 0 stars.
    They provide some GREAT shooting activities that anyone can participate in and I can’t recommend them strongly enough.
    I do their trap shoots when I can and just got back from a pheasant hunt in South Dakota that the SD PVA put on.
    (I was in the neighborhood having driven from Phx to MN for deer hunting)
    Being able bodied I was one of the “walkers” that drove birds into the blockers, most of them in wheelchairs. Nothing motivates better when your feet and legs are sore than thinking the guy you’re driving birds to would LOVE to have sore feet and worn out legs.

    One hell of a good time with some top quality people.

    Posted by KM | November 15, 2012, 9:16 am
  4. Actually I saw it at JD Kinman’s site, and pushed it. And yes WWP is backpedaling so fast they’re leaving a rooster tail! …

    Posted by Old NFO | November 15, 2012, 10:16 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 143,965 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

