you're reading...
advertising, expectations, frustration, lost culture, not guns, rant, training

Variations on a Theme

The other day, I wrote about Personal Responsibility.  Today, it’s about Customer ServiceOr rather the lack, thereof…

Roomie and I went gallivanting about the other afternoon, running some errands.  We visited a local dry cleaning store.  Roomie and I are helping prepare her stepmother’s house for sale (her stepmother is in a care facility at age 88).  We had some draperies that needing cleaning.

“We don’t do cur-ens!”  she was told.  We hunted around and located another establishment that would do cur-ens.

Then, we went to T-Mobile.  Roomie gets her cellular telephone/Internet service through them, and allows me access through her hotspot.  Saves us both a little money over having separate services.  Said hotspot wasn’t holding an Internet connection, and kept saying ‘low battery’, even though it charged all night.

I’d like to say the T-Mobile store connected the device to a machine to determine if it was the high-tech battery failing, or perhaps the device, itself.  I’d like to say that, but NO.  The clerk (behind the counter labelled ANSWERS) told us he didn’t know much about hotspots, then looked up the warranty info on his computer (which was built apparently by Nikola Tesla and George Westinghouse using paraffin candles for illumination!) and eventually told us good news, a replacement battery was under warranty!  Instead of costing $60, it was free!  Plus the $7.99, no $8.99, no $11.99 handling charge for overnight delivery!  (it WAS $7.99 for 5 day delivery, he explained)  Special!

So, sometime tomorrow we’ll see if it’s the battery or something else that failed…(written Wednesday)

Customer Service.  Yep!

PS – no battery has arrived, yet.  It’s been TWO days.  Overnight, yep. (1430)

PPS – the battery FINALLY arrived @ 1830 tonight.  Two days, not overnight.  Of course, it takes something like 12 hours for a full charge before use.

PPPS – after a lengthy charge, the new battery worked…for a few hours.  :-(
The machine is now saying ‘low battery’ yet again.  Roomie is calling T-Mobile to see
if we need a replacement unit…

PPPPS – The new gizmo is scheduled to arrive Tuesday.

The adventure continues…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Variations on a Theme

  1. I realize the irony of me having…. well, any opinion of customer service, being the professional and loudly trumpeted Scourge of the GenPop. Or at least I play one on TV. Anyway, in my defense, I am rarely “snarky” (and don’t we all need a new word for this aspect of my personality? Let’s work on that one. Making a note.) to anyone who is not a complete asshat to me first. I do not preemptively strike. However, I will kneejerk said knee up into the groinals of someone being an asshat to me without a second thought.
    I said all that to say this: I’ve NEVER EVER EVER had a good encounter with a cellphone representative, be they live in person or on the phone or online. NEVER. I think they’re required to pass some sort of incompetency/ butthead exam to even take the post.
    In case I was being all overly-yappy and not making sense, aka As Usual…. I was agreeing with and supporting your post.
    Oh gawd, LeeAnn, just STFU already!

    Posted by LeeAnn | November 16, 2012, 8:02 am
  2. Charged you the $11, bet you get it in 5 days…

    Posted by Old NFO | November 16, 2012, 11:06 am
  3. Had to laugh out loud at the George and Nikola building a computer remark.
    Apparently the same dodo works at the 2 Verizon stores I was in today (their gas bills must be insane)….and no, my problem STILL isn’t fixed!
    I feel your pain.

    Posted by KM | November 16, 2012, 9:18 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 262 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 124,169 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

