you're reading...
America, annoyance, friends, frustration, gun control, not government, opinion, political correctness, rant, research, whining

Differences of Opinion

I used to be ‘on’ Facebook a lot more.  I located a number of long-lost friends there, and even connected with high school reunion (and junior high!) folks there.

But, as I became more of a blogger, my time there has been limited.  I usually stop by daily, just to check-in though.

While there is occasionally conflict or a difference of opinion in the blogosphere, my experience in FB has not been the same.  You see, persons of more diverse opinions tend to make theirs known on Facebook.  I’ve no problem with people not being on the same page.  That’s one of the things that makes life interesting.  I’ve posted about such friends (Ralph).  Life would be incredibly boring if we were all in lock-step.

My objection is people who aren’t even on the same planet or in the same universe.  These folks concern me.

As an example, I’ve known a guy for about 20 years.  We worked together @ TMCCC.  We had some similar interests.  I liked going all out for Halloween, so did he (for example).  But, we never really got political.  And he moved to Australia.  And back here.  And he visited me in the hospital after the accident – a good guy.  We’ve reconnected on Facebook, and he’s made noises about getting together for a drink, or lunch, or something.  A laudable idea.  But…

He obviously not only has no idea where I stand (he doesn’t read this blog); he (re)posts stuff on FB, without any knowledge of the subject, or researching it to see if it makes any sense. One (of many) examples:

This adjacent to a bunch of comments from like-minded folk also piling on, and not understanding either The Constitution or the subject matter.  Complete with ‘you don’t need a machine gun to deer hunt’ comments!

How can I possibly make nice with this guy?

I have friends who are liberal.  I have friends who are independent.  And we’ve had healthy, sometimes heated discussions.  I’m just not certain I can do so with this guy.  And that ticks me off, as he’s a friend.

sigh

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

19 thoughts on “Differences of Opinion

  1. *Warning: Extremely biased opinion/rant ahead*
    This (among other reasons) is why I am not, and never will be, on Facebook.
    Facebook has caused all manner of blow-ups in my family, ranging from politics, to religion, to parenting.
    (“Why does your daughter’s wall have THIS on it?”)

    I don’t need that kind of baggage.

    Other reasons to hate Facebook: their notorious privacy violations, a tool for stalking and bullying, employers and potential employers holding stuff against you (that have nothing pertaining to your job), a huge time suck.

    It really irks me that it’s assumed that everyone is on Facebook and one is “supposed” to be checking up on everyone else. (“Well, I posted the invitation on Facebook, didn’t you see it?”)

    If I haven’t managed to convince you, just watch the South Park episode “You Have Zero Friends.”

    End of rant….

    Posted by Tomi | November 19, 2012, 7:13 am
  2. It’s not the opinions that are are as annoying as the lack of thinking behind them. They cruise on something that sounds good, and if you try to actually debate the points people just get angry and nasty. And at all times YOU are the one who is divisive, YOU are the one who has to compromise beliefes. So I pretty much don’t bother anymore.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | November 19, 2012, 7:27 am
  3. Gfa, I’m with you on the Facebook thing. I have relatives that think the only way to send email is through this vile waste of time. It’s the only reason I still have an account.

    Your “friend” there must have a selective filter that blocks any news or input regarding home invasions etc…. I simply have no use for folks like that.

    Posted by Matt | November 19, 2012, 7:32 am
  4. Take him shooting…

    If he’s not willing to do that, he’s no friend.

    Hard advice, I know, but you can stew for years in a mess like that… or cut it clean. :)

    Posted by MamaLiberty | November 19, 2012, 8:09 am
  5. Recently “unfriended” a Facebook contact; a rabid “Progressive”. The difference of opinion wasn’t the problem. The utter disrespect of any opinion that differed was the problem. Juvenile neener, neener, neener.

    Posted by WellSeasonedFool | November 19, 2012, 8:23 am
  6. I understand. It’s been some time since I actually wrote anything on FB. I occasionally share something from a friend’s page, but I’m feeling spread rather thinly these days, and just can’t write there AND compose anything meaningful on my blog, while working full time. On the other hand, a day without FB is still a full day.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | November 19, 2012, 9:27 am
  7. Im for take him shooting I find those who donot like machine guns just havent shot one yet.

    Posted by don | November 19, 2012, 10:52 am
    • Good idea.
      Sadly I’ve no machine guns in the offing. But a well-worn S&W snub and 1911 might help!
      Thanks,
      gfa

      Posted by guffaw1952 | November 19, 2012, 12:37 pm
      • I suspect he’s not at all ready for a machine gun experience, though that would be awesome to me. Just getting him to the range would be an accomplishment, and might help him at least begin to see what is true, even if he wasn’t ready to actually shoot… this time. My experience is that if I can get a person OUT THERE, the scales will fall from their eyes pretty fast. If I can get them to actually fire the Ruger Mk II .22 pistol even once… they are changed forever.

        So, just don’t give him too much gun for the first time. :)

        Posted by MamaLiberty | November 19, 2012, 1:15 pm
  8. Hey Guffaw! That same guy unfriended me! I respectfully disagreed with him on two of his posts. It’s funny, we used to argue quite frequently when we worked together, and he knew where I stood on most issues when he accepted my friend request, apparently he has become thin-skinned. As for Facebook, it’s a “Social Network”, being unsocial is just as useless as being anti-social. We have become a self-censorship society, you can’t talk about politics or religion at work, at parties, at family gatherings or any other social situation, and that is sad and unhealthy. It’s important to engage with people that do not agree with you as well as those that do, it’s called “The Great American Conversation” and Facebook is really the only place left where it is taking place.

    Posted by gfrancisbrown | November 22, 2012, 4:55 pm
    • Well, apparently not.
      I don’t generally flaunt my politics of beliefs on FB for that very reason.
      And people from TMCCC seems to have experienced similar situations to ours.
      Oh, well…
      Perhaps this is why he never followed up on the pending invitation we had lying out there dormant (?)

      Posted by guffaw1952 | November 22, 2012, 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 312 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 149,035 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

