you're reading...
American, history, Hollywood, lost culture, music, not guns, TV

Childhood Music

(caution – earworms ahead)

The other day, I placed a YouTube video of Dave Brubeck’s music to connect with the jazz master’s passing.  Then, I put The Addams Family TV show theme song on my blog’s You Tube link.

Music from my youth.  And it got me thinking.  Where did most of the tunes with which I identified when I was a kid come from?  Why, television, and movies, of course!

I always read TV credits as a kid.  Hell, I still read them (and movie credits) now.  Helps me to identify actors, directors, technical folks and music I like from the show.  Or perhaps dislike.

I remember Frank DeVol.  He did music for TV and the movies from the 40s into the 80s.  Richard Diamond, My Three Sons, The Brady Bunch, even taking time out to conduct the orchestra for The Dirty Dozen!  And many other works.

Then, there was Vic Mizzy.  The poor man’s Frank DeVol.  From the 60s to the 80s.  Highlights include The Addams Family, Green Acres, The Munster’s Revenge, and even Quincy, M.E.

And Henry Mancini.  Where do I start?  Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Peter Gunn, Mr. Lucky.  Hatari!

John Barry.  James Bond movies.

Bernard Hermann.  Hitchcock.  Psycho.  Vertigo.

I just can’t get into the truncated theme songs of today, with their rap/hip-hop motifs.  If there even IS a theme song?  Guess they’re just too expensive to produce.

Guess I’m old…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Childhood Music

  1. Old? Maybe. But I have a degree in music, and can assure you that today’s rap/hip-hop is mostly devoid of anything that would have been classified as music in a college that teaches it. It features a theme or motif, but those are rarely developed into anything beyond a repetitive riff. A freshman music theory student would get a failing grade if that’s all he/she turned in.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | January 4, 2013, 8:16 am
    • WOW! I didn’t know that!? Very cool.

      Oh, I forgot Elmer Bernstein – The Magnificent Seven!

      Posted by guffaw1952 | January 4, 2013, 8:30 am
      • WARNING: SHAMELESS PLUG FOR LOCAL TALENT!

        The Phoenix Symphony collaborated with Elmer Bernstein back in the 90s to compile the complete film score (which had never been done prior to then) and then record the music from The Magnificent Seven. It is available on the Koch International Classics label.

        Posted by Tomi | January 4, 2013, 8:49 am
      • Sadly, the theme was compromised to sell Marlboro cigarettes in the 60s.
        Thanks for plugging the Phx Symphony, though!

        Posted by guffaw1952 | January 4, 2013, 9:13 am
  2. From what I understand, the death of the theme song has more to do with making more time for commercials than lack of available talent or funds. There have been a few modern exceptions: Big Bang Theory and Malcolm in the Middle come to mind. There might be a few others as well.
    My personal faves from my childhood: The Ballad of Gilligan’s Island and the ORIGINAL (that aspect is important) Scooby Doo – Where Are You? theme song.

    I’m mildly surprised you didn’t mention Carl Stalling – the genius behind the Warner Bros. cartoons’ music! :-)

    Posted by Tomi | January 4, 2013, 8:38 am
    • Well, you can’t remember everyone. AND, Stalling used Raymond Scott’s work many times!
      ‘Powerhouse’, which I always called the WB Industrial Theme.
      Sccoby Doo was after my time. And who’s the comedian who dislikes the Gilligan theme, because it tells the whole story – why bother watching after that! :-P

      Posted by guffaw1952 | January 4, 2013, 9:11 am
  3. Beverly Hillbillies…

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | January 4, 2013, 12:12 pm
  4. We both are… And Mancini’s DAUGHTER now has the orchestra… sigh…

    Posted by Old NFO | January 4, 2013, 2:49 pm
  5. Hatari! I loved that movie as a kid. The Duke and Red Buttons.
    Best part imho was when Button’s character pulled of the rocket propelled monkey net.

    Posted by kx59 | January 4, 2013, 7:54 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 152,816 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

