you're reading...
character, choices, comfort, friends, mental health, preparation, real world

Are You Tough, Mentally?

I used to hang with a nice married couple.  They are good friends, but they moved away.  Fortunately, this was after they became my shooting students, and went on to become teachers, themselves.

I remember them telling me back-in-the-day that years before we became acquainted, they’d gone to a gun show.  And some vendor therein had a sales technique predicting an apocalypse.  His sales spiel was:

When the s*** comes down, you will need ‘X’!

Tactical Intelligence addresses something that most who read this and similar blogs already know:

“The more you sweat in times of peace, the less you’ll bleed in times of war.”

and

If there’s one thing though that we rarely hear about in the prepper circles that I feel is equally as important, it’s building up our mental toughness.

Self-defense oriented folks already are familiar with such precepts:  Jeff Cooper’s Principles of Personal Defense is all about our attitude.

So what are some things that you can do to build mental toughness?

  • If you have a flight of stairs in your home, any time you walk down them, go on all fours (great shoulder and chest workout). Or when going up, hop up each step.

  • Do a number of pushups or pullups (install a pull-up bar in the doorway) before entering or leaving certain rooms of the house.

  • Go without food or water for 24 hours

  • When on errands, park your car further out so you have to walk farther.

  • When showering, finish the last portion of it with a blast of cold water.

  • When watching TV, do pushups/situps during the commercial breaks.

  • Try to do as many activities as possible with your non-dominant hand.

  • If you’re on the shy side, go out of your way to talk to 3 new people a day and learn something about each of them, or…

  • …try singing at the top of your lungs when someone is pulled up next to you at a stop light.

  • Wake up an hour earlier than you’re used to.

  • When getting your mail in the middle of winter, go out in some shorts and a t-shirt.

  • On those nights when you’re exhausted and just want to go to bed, force yourself to clean or do the dishes for 10 minutes.

Practicing a snap kick for 1000 repetitions, or a pistol presentation 1000 times may help you with you physical self – your muscle memory.  But, readiness is not just about the physical.

You should go and read the whole article at the link above, and remember, prepping isn’t just how many guns or rounds-of-ammo or bandages or water filters you have.  What you do with those tools is entirely dependent on your attitude.

For when the s*** comes down…

h/t Karmann & Stan

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Are You Tough, Mentally?

  1. Most of that list has to do with “physical” strength and fitness, not mental. An awful lot of folks would find most of that list impossible to do at any time, for any reason. And the physical has little or nothing to do with “mental toughness.”

    My mental “toughness” is being willing and able to pull the trigger and hit what I aim at when/if my other barriers and preparations fail. Attitude does not always rely on physical strength.

    It is unfortunate when ordinary people are told that they need to become body builders and amazons before they can defend themselves.

    NOT.

    Posted by MamaLiberty | February 27, 2013, 9:07 am
  2. MamaLiberty beat me to it, although you each have a point. Being physically toughened is very important to maintaining mental toughness … but not the same thing. Mental toughness could be described as refusal to lay down and die, refusal to surrender, or simply a refusal to give up. My body has taken a beating lately, and I’m not the ‘horse’ I was a few years ago, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to lay down for anybody.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | February 27, 2013, 10:56 am
  3. Being tough mentally would require that I possess a mental….

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | February 27, 2013, 1:28 pm
  4. +1 on Mama and Rev….

    Posted by Old NFO | February 27, 2013, 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 264 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 124,188 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers

