you're reading...
action, analysis, anger, choices, common sense, political correctness, self-defense, zero-tolerance

Violence never solved anything!

Really?

It’s amazing how the p****fication  of America continues.  I saw an article the other day regarding violence in the schools, and how there was a ‘zero tolerance’ policy for such things.  Including the phrase:

Violence never solved anything!

Certainly juveniles need to be taught how to solve their differences without physical conflict first, but, failing that, learn next how to pick and choose their battles, then to win them!  These last two elements seem to have been lost to the dustbin of history.

This can and should be extrapolated to relations between nations.  Speak softly and carry a big stick works for me, for the ‘street’ and the schoolyard (although most schoolyards prohibit sticks or their moral equivalent).

Certainly children emulate their parents, more than copy their words.  If you solve problems at home physically, your child is likely to copy you.  I saw a stair-step family in the mall one day, six or seven kids in a row, in diminishing height, accompanying their mother.  (side note – father was nowhere to be seen.)  One of the middle boys punched his sister in the arm – the mom spun around and cracked the boy full-palm across the face screaming “Don’t you hit your sister!”   I wonder where he learned such behavior?

I remember my daughter, after two years of karate, being harassed at her bus stop by a boy who was a head taller than she.  This was happening daily.  Obviously, the boy was repeating something he heard at home, something inappropriate for this venue or 6th Grade girls, which my daughter was.  She implored me, “Can I hit him?, Can I?”  I asked if he had touched her, she said no.  I advised we would deal with it (by speaking with the school).  But, I did tell her if he did touch her, yes, she could respond with force.  Fortunately, he was moved to another bus stop, and she didn’t have to do anything.  She’d have hurt him, significantly.

I’ve never been the victim of an armed robbery (knock-on-wood) but if I were and the opportunity presented itself, I’d respond with appropriate force.  Not inappropriate force, but force.  Violence.  If necessary.  I have been the victim of multiple burglaries (in my former neighborhood).  Had I walked in on the miscreants, responding with force concurrent with Arizona law would have been appropriate.  And certainly necessary.

I was attacked by a mentally unbalanced person with a knife once.  It’s fortunate I was unarmed, or she would be dead.  I did injure her to stop the attack.

Violence isn’t always a first choice, but sometimes it is a choice.  And sometimes it does solve problems.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Violence never solved anything!

  1. Violence is not the answer. It’s a question. And sometimes, the answer has to be yes.

    Posted by Snowdog | March 22, 2013, 9:22 am
  2. +1 to Snowdog!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | March 22, 2013, 9:40 am
  3. +2 to Snowdog.

    Posted by WellSeasonedFool | March 22, 2013, 1:24 pm
  4. Violence, organized violence on a massive scale certainly solved the problems of Nazism and Japanese Imperialism. It could also solve the problem of Islamism, too, only if the “civilized” Western nations weren’t such p*ssies.
    Violence has solved more problems down through the ages than “rational discourse” ever did. Rational discourse works only if all parties involved are rational. Criminals and Islamists are not rational people.

    Posted by Ogrrre | March 23, 2013, 9:13 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 256 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 122,972 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

