you're reading...
analysis, debate, immigration, lost culture, rant, terrorism

There’s a point here…

So…

Initial investigation has determined that there were two individuals proximately responsible for the Boston Marathon bombings.  They later shot and killed a police officer.  One of the suspects was DRT*.  (Reportedly run over by the other suspect during his escape!)

The two suspects are of Chechen origin, and have lived in the United States for 10 years.  They are reportedly Muslim (as are many Chechens) and brothers.  I’ll not grant them any more fame by posting their names or photos here.

It’s been reported by family members that the two brothers never assimilated into American Culture, and had no American friends.  After 10 years (!)

“…never assimilated into American Culture” 

The point of the information reported is not that the suspects are Chechen, or Muslim, or brothers.  It’s that they lived here TEN YEARS and did not assimilate.  Period.

I’ve no problem with folks legally migrating to the United Stated and retaining connections with their home country and culture.  Hell, I’m part German and part Irish stock – have celebrated St. Patrick’s Day and Octoberfest.  But, I’m an American.

It used to be if folks came to America, it was to find the freedom here – to become American.  I used to know an Italian family who owned a pizza place.  Tiny Italian and American flags all over the restaurant, coupled with a picture of the President and the Pope on the back wall.  And they had many friends and customers of all ethnicities and nationalities.

I don’t know if these guys were home-grown terrorists, turned by a radical Muslim/Chechen faction, or part of a sleeper cell.  Perhaps we’ll never know.

But, I do know if they’d assimilated, there’d have been less of a chance of violence used against us.

I wonder if the families of the Mexican kids who tore down the American Flag at their high school and ran up a Mexican flag understand this?

Come here to be part of American culture – or stay home.

*dead right there – thanks to John Farnham

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “There’s a point here…

  1. “Come here to be part of American culture – or stay home.”

    Couldn’t agree more. Americans have long been tolerant of other cultures & their ways upon arrival here, but I sense that tolerance is growing thin.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | April 20, 2013, 7:00 am
  2. I’m part German and part Irish stock
    Me too. I think we’re supposed to get hammered and try to take over the world. (or maybe it’s the other way around)

    As far as the mexican kids who tore down the American flag and their families reaction, I seriously doubt that any of them did anything to the kids except give them smiles, high fives and attaboys. That kind of hate towards the country they came to isn’t taught in any of the schools I went to.
    But I’m just a gray haired clinger, what do I know. Everything wrong in this country is my fault because I’m white. I also vote conservative so blame me double.

    Posted by KM | April 20, 2013, 8:01 am
  3. This is an issue upon which I am conflicted.

    The libertarian in me argues that as long as people who want to live here learn English (which is the “lingua franca”, official or not) and obey the law, then they can do as they please.

    On the other hand, the feminist in me is endlessly irked by my personal observations that, in many cases, the immigrant men go on to assimilate and enjoy our freedoms while the women forever look like they just got off the boat. I do not like the idea that the freedom our society engenders allows the existence of a permanent underclass of women who are not allowed to dress, work, behave, etc. according to their own choice. (Remember the Iraqi woman that was run over by her father here in Phoenix a few years ago?)

    I don’t know what the magic answer is. How do you balance freedom against freedom?

    Some European countries (who have also been dealing with this issue) have started showing potential citizens films of topless beaches, same-sex couples kissing, and in the case of the Netherlands – legal prostitution and legal drug use, and basically telling the applicants, “If you cannot tolerate this, do not come here.”

    Posted by Tomi | April 20, 2013, 8:46 am
    • Obviously, it is about choice. And, if what you observed is the norm, I suspect it says more about the cultures from whence they came then ours.
      “If you cannot tolerate this, do not come here.” That presupposes we Americans all agree on those things that deserve tolerance. Obviously, we do not.

      And, the Netherlands has dialed back ‘legal’ drug use and prostitution, as organized crime was apparently rampant on it’s coat-tails.

      Freedom is a difficult balancing act.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | April 20, 2013, 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 260 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 123,263 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 260 other followers

