you're reading...
BLOGGER, blogging, statistics, WordPress

Follow, Lead, Or Get Out of the Way!

Following, as it relates to a blog, is weird.  Of course, blogging unto itself is weird.

When I first began blogging, on the BLOGGER format software, I found there was a means by which a person could be alerted to a new blog post via their email.  Following.  And, after I changed over to WordPress, I noticed a similar function.

It was an amusing and interesting way a blogger can determine who likes what he shares, and enumerated those who do.  Ego gratifying – certainly.  Look!  I’ve another follower, today!

When I left the BLOGGER format, Guffaw in AZ had 48 followers.  Pretty cool for someone who had no expectation of an interested (or any) readership!  And most of these folks seemed to be fellow-travellers.  Like-minded folk – libertarians, gun guys (and gals).  People whose sense of humor was a little off (?)  But then I moved to WordPress.

WordPress bloggers seem to be a whole different animal.  Not all who came by to read and follow are like-minded travellers.  The protocol seems to be – pick up on a stray post, perhaps not the usual twisted, tin-foil hatted, armed kind, and based on that stray post alone, decide to follow me.

And have expectations of reciprocal following!  Look, I’m following you, you’d better follow me!  Some kind of schoolyard paradigm.

I don’t do that.  I prefer using my blogroll, blogs saved in my bookmarks and TGBBL as my guides.  And, I’ve lost some ‘fair-weather followers’ as a result.

I don’t care.

As of this writing, I’ve 140 followers!  I suspect about half of which are from my original blog – libertarians, carnivores, gun guys and gals, or folks leaning that way.  The others?  Perhaps tofu-ingesting statists?  I’ve no idea.

But, I’m still surprised.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Follow, Lead, Or Get Out of the Way!

  1. Followers can be a strange breed – I’ve not heard from some of my original followers (from 5 years ago) since they first appeared on the sidebar. Ah well, that’s okay. Interesting, though, as you say.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | June 26, 2013, 8:53 am
  2. Well, I guess I could be regarded a “follower” – at least I read your stuff most every day.
    Didn’t know I had to sign up though …

    … it’s a pain to have to be logged into my account in order to post comments (here and elsewhere)
    So I don’t comment much these days

    And I lurk in the background … deep in the dark…

    Waiting
    :)

    Q

    Posted by Quizikle | June 26, 2013, 2:49 pm
  3. My little corner of the ‘net has 2 followers and 22K hits. So? I do it for me and a few family. Where the followers came from I am clueless….
    I enjoy your viewpoint as expressed here. Keep the “free ice cream” coming.

    Posted by The Old Man | June 27, 2013, 11:15 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 138,800 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 290 other followers

