you're reading...
bloggers, comfort, friends, gimps, goodness, gratitude, health, personal problem, whining less

The Slings, Arrows and Sore Butt and Legs

…of outrageous fortune!

Well, the last two, at least, I’ve been suffering.

IMAG0073My economy desk drafting chair, from which I write/steal this daily drivel, broke a few months ago.  Because of my leg disability, I need to sit taller.  Most available standard desk chairs go as tall as 28 inches; some 30!  and lower down to 16 or 18.  Not exactly what I require.  If I sit on the floor I might not be able to get up.

SO. I’ve been perching on a low bent wood chair of my roommate’s.  Nice furniture, but not designed with a crippled, fat person in mind.  Did I say it is LOW?  And hard, even with a pillow.

I mentioned my predicament to a good friend only over the Internet.  They promptly sent me PayPal funds specifically earmarked for a new chair!  Without my asking.  I’m blessed.

IMAG0074Then came the nightmare that is Amazon Prime and UPS, in concert to make me wait, then miss the delivery.  I commented to another friend, “Technology is great!  But, then we expect it, and when it fails, we whine,”  Well, I do, anyway.

But, no longer, I’ve a new, taller chair (thanks to my benefactor) and can return the old one to my roommate. Relatively undamaged.

All’s right with the World.  At least my butt thinks so.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Slings, Arrows and Sore Butt and Legs

  1. Very cool. And it does look way more comfortable.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | August 14, 2013, 8:48 am
  2. That is great news, now sit up straight, don’t eat with…. er never mind! :-)

    Posted by Old NFO | August 14, 2013, 9:00 am
  3. What they said. We expect bigger better longer posts now.

    Okay, okay … just kidding. :)

    Posted by Rev. Paul | August 14, 2013, 9:17 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 312 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 148,954 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers

