you're reading...
character, Heroes, history, honor, lost culture

Heroes

It’s been said there are no longer heroes.  This presupposes all heroism to be resident in times past; days of yesteryear.  Fond recollection, now absent.

Growing up, my heroes were individuals who set goals, aspired to them and surpassed them.  Harry Houdini, Thomas Jefferson, and Cassius Clay (aka Muhammad Ali).  All these men lived up to their egos and surpassed their goals.  And stood for something.

I remember a story about Alexander Hamilton visiting Jefferson at Monticello, and noting the three portraits in the foyer:  Sir Issac Newton, John Locke and Francis Bacon.  Hamilton asked Jefferson who the portraits were.  He proudly identified them as the three greatest men who ever lived.  Hamilton responded, “I thought Julius Caesar was the greatest man who ever lived!”  We all have our heroes.

Today, heroism seems to be populated with military folk – many of whom ARE heroes, and sports or Hollywood figures.  And that’s fine, such as it is.

But, see what The Art of Manliness came up with:

Manvotional: There Is Always a Time for Heroism

by BRETT & KATE MCKAY

oldman

“There Is Always a Time for Heroism”
By GR Jordan
From The Emerging Revival, 1946

Once Wendell Phillips and a young friend were sitting by the fire. It was a memorable evening. Recollections had flushed the cheeks of the veteran campaigner. Memories of former heroic days had loosened his tongue. He had completely lost himself in the thrilling recital of the past. The young visitor sat enthralled. At last, when he recognized that the evening was far gone, he rose with a start. “Mr. Phillips,” he exclaimed, as he grasped the older man’s hand, “if I had lived in your time, I think I would have been heroic too!” The veteran, who had accompanied his young visitor to the door, was noticeably aroused. As he pointed down the street, he drew the attention of his companion to flaunting indications of audacious vice. His voice was tremulous with indignation as he exclaimed: “Young man, you are living in my time, and in God’s time! Be sure of this:  No man could have been heroic then who is not heroic now.

Be heroic now.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Heroes

  1. It’s been my experience that most are unaware of any particular heroism until after the fact. There’s just “what’s happening now” and “what shall I do about it?”.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | October 7, 2013, 9:00 am
  2. Nice read this morning Guff.

    sports or Hollywood figures

    Meh. Generally they don’t qualify. Celebrity is often confused by the LSM as heroism.
    Unless an athlete ran fast to save a stranger from a dog attack or Joe Hollywood jumped to push a kid out of the way of a bus, most of their endeavors fall under “fascinating and fun to watch” but not heroic IMHO.
    The PGA Tour gives more money to charity than the NFL, NBA & NHL combined. Heroic? I’m not sure.
    Kids getting treated in hospitals with donation money is certainly noble but it’s a subjective line between the two.

    Posted by KM | October 7, 2013, 9:20 am
  3. Forgot to add…Be heroic now…something that really needs to happen in these “interesting times.”

    Posted by Anonymous | October 7, 2013, 9:24 am
  4. Right. What you’re made of doesn’t change , just what timeline you live in.

    Posted by gpcox | October 7, 2013, 12:22 pm
  5. Very well said gfa. My heroes are indeed personal, but they are heroes indeed.

    Posted by brigid | October 8, 2013, 9:57 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 144,055 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

