you're reading...
beer, health, humor, not guns

Beer Gut

beer gutMan’s gut fermented food into alcohol, making him drunk, case study finds

(CNN) — Most beer guts are the result of consuming fermented brew, but a new case study describes a rare syndrome that had one man’s gut fermenting brew, not consuming it.

It’s called gut fermentation syndrome or auto-brewery syndrome, and it’s “a relatively unknown phenomenon in Western medicine” according to a study published in July’s International Journal of Clinical Medicine. “Only a few cases have been reported in the last three decades” according to Dr. Barbara Cordell, the dean of nursing at Panola College in Carthage, Texas, and Dr. Justin McCarthy, a Lubbock gastroenterologist, the study’s authors.

The most current case comes courtesy of an unnamed 61-year-old Texas man who for five years seemed to be drunk — all of the time.

Sounds like some bloggers I’ve run across!

No, not me.

PS – because Squeaky Wheel informed me of the real health issues in this post, she asked for a link to the original article.  Here ya go Squeak:  http://www.cnn.com/2013/09/19/health/gut-fermentation-syndrome/index.html

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Beer Gut

  1. A human with multiple stomachs? How else do you get food to sit long enough to ferment (rot)?
    Did these people have antlers too?

    Posted by KM | October 27, 2013, 10:30 am
  2. Gotta admit that is one helluva excuse… :-)

    Posted by Old NFO | October 27, 2013, 11:32 am
  3. Of course, now that the excuse has been used, it’s that much harder to use it again.

    Durned spoilsports! :)

    Posted by Rev. Paul | October 27, 2013, 2:37 pm
  4. Gastroparesis – it’s a condition where the stomach doesn’t digest things very quickly (I know someone who has it as a result of bad Lyme treatment plus diabetes…she’s really skinny and doesn’t eat much because it’s so uncomfortable for her). It’s essentially partial paralysis of the stomach. I would posit that the man has it, and also has a lack of stomach acid, causing the food to just sit there stewing in its own juices. Pair that with a case of digestive candida (basically a digestive yeast infection), and I think it’s perfectly plausible for someone to brew alcohol in their belly, though I’m not sure how he’s survived that long.

    Link to article?

    /nerdtalk

    Posted by Squeaky Wheel | October 28, 2013, 9:29 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 152,801 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

