you're reading...
appearance, bigotry, class warfare, communism, dysfunction, Fear, halloween

Halloween Night (in a liberal college town)

Yea!  Halloween!

Not so much here.  I observed NO trick-or-treaters in my late afternoon-early evening travels.  None.  And none came to the door.

(Granted, we didn’t have the porch light turned on, and it might have appeared as if we weren’t home!)

A friend in a busy Chicago suburb reported to me she had 5 (five) kids between the government-mandated times of 5 to 7 PM.  Five.  It’s very sad how ‘they’ have ruined Halloween.

SO, my roommate said she was coming home from work, and called and asked I pick up dinner @ a nearby Subway.  It’s a half mile away, so that’s no big deal.  I went in, and one of the people behind the counter was dressed for the holiday (even though there was a sign asking all patrons to remove masks if they had them – irony impaired, no doubt!)

And the Subway guy was dressed as…..Che’ Guevara!  Fatigues, boots, fake beard, beret.

I ordered and received my sandwiches (which were quite yummy, BTW!), but on my way out, I couldn’t help but comment to Che’:

“Hey Che’.  You are quite scary for Halloween.  Che’s was a bigot and a murderer.  You might think of him at Hitler on a smaller scale.  Would you have dressed as Hitler?”

Then I left.  Hopefully, he wiki’ed Ernesto ‘Che’ Guevara later and rethought his choice of costume.

Che-t-shirt

BTW FTC – I paid for my sandwiches!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Halloween Night (in a liberal college town)

  1. I suspect the irony was lost on “Che”.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | November 2, 2013, 8:56 am
  2. Yep, he either didn’t get it, or actually BELIEVES Che was a ‘good’ person…

    Posted by Old NFO | November 2, 2013, 2:30 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 287 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 137,387 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

