you're reading...
'only ones', agenda, analysis, CCW, communism, corruption, honor, lost culture, memories, military

I Would Not Carry a Gun for the Government.

I Would Not Carry a Gun for the Government

By 

Why RonPaulMD.com?

Ron on his new personal website, and why he became a doctor and not a soldier.

When I was thinking of the URL for my new personal homepage, I considered many possibilities. Thanks also to all those who sent other suggestions. But I settled on RonPaulMD.com as reflecting a very important area of my life. To be a physician, and deliver 4,000 babies, was extremely fulfilling. Many times, I see people wearing a “I Was a Ron Paul Baby” t-shirt. Once, when I gave a speech in Iowa, I was told the head of the convention center wanted to talk to me. She had her birth certificate, and this time, she said, she wanted a legible signature! I was delighted to sign it again.

RonPaulMD.com highlights the non-political aspect of my life, the part not involved with that great engine of violence in DC, except to oppose it. Though when I first ran for office, advisors told me to emphasize the MD, since it showed I was not a lawyer!

Most important, I became a doctor to avoid being a soldier. I knew I would be drafted, and such things as seeking asylum in another country, or becoming a conscientious objector, were out of my range of thought at that time. But if I became a doctor, I knew I would not be given a rifle and told to shoot other young men at government orders.

Though the horrible UN oath is used in medical schools these days, I still adhere to the Hippocratic Oath, and its injunction to “First, do no harm.” It’s a great, ancient libertarian principle.

Thanks for visiting my home page. I hope you come back often.  (emphasis Guffaw)

Dr. Paul reminded me of something.  When I turned eighteen, my Father made certain I registered for The Draft.  This was during the height of the Vietnam War.  Between my disgust for communism, and a family history involving Marines, I really wanted to go.  And kill communists for my country.

But, being disabled, they wouldn’t have me.  Later, in college, I tried again with R.O.T.C.  They, too, refused me.  Said I couldn’t march.  (I could shoot, but when was THAT ever a qualification?)

One of my good friends, David (Yes, another David – this makes 4?) came-of-age and registered as a conscientious objector.   I even wrote a letter to his draft board attesting to his sincerity in his beliefs.  And I asked a third time if they’d consider me as his replacement.  No go.

But in my adolescent fantasies (the ones not consumed by girls), I had dreamt of becoming a Marine, then a local cop, then a federal agent of some flavor.  This was not in anyone else’s cards.

It occurred to me a couple years ago that the primary reason I wanted law enforcement under my belt was so I could carry a firearm, legally, concealed.  And, of course, to catch the ‘bad guys’.  Now, with my CCW permit (and Constitutional Carry) I can do that in most of my State with impunity.

Now that I’m over 60, and the appeal of working for The Man is gone, I would not carry a gun for my government.  Unless, of course, the Chinese military is advancing up from the Mexican Border…

And many of those ‘bad guys’ now work for government.  Who knew?

I cannot imagine the anguish of those in government who honor their oaths to The Constitution, and have to do the bidding of the ‘bad guys’.  It must be excruciating.  And demoralizing.

Some of them are friends.  You know who you are.  Thank you for your service and dedication.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “I Would Not Carry a Gun for the Government.

  1. There is zero chance I’d recommend entering military service to a young person now. I think we are rapidly spiraling towards a time when those in uniform may have to make a hard choice about following orders.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | November 27, 2013, 1:31 pm
  2. I did carry and use a gun for the gov’t for 3 months back in 1969 – 1971. I would not recommend young folks to join today’s armed forces. I agree with Proudhillbilly on that. That includes law enforcement too.

    Posted by harp1034 | November 28, 2013, 11:51 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 152,445 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

