you're reading...
Bill of Rights, First Amendment, hysteria, political correctness, politically incorrect, progressive, propaganda

Freedom of Speech

‘Duck Dynasty’s’ Phil Robertson on Indefinite Hiatus Following Anti-Gay Remarks

Here’s a TV show I never watch, and have no interest in.  I’ve seen snippets, and except for the family’s touching religiosity (like dining together and saying grace) I find it inane.  It’s reportedly the most watched show on television!

Based on Mr. Robertson’s pronouncements, this is an area where he and I disagree.

Chick-fil-A president deletes tweet denouncing Supreme Court rulings on gay marriage

I’ve never been to a Chik-fil-A.  There isn’t one nearby.  I understand the food is exceptional (for fast food),  the places are spotless, and, because of the company’s president’s predilections, it is closed on Sunday.  They are rumored to have terrific biscuits.

So what?

The media was all over the Chik-fil-A story last Summer, and is now having a feeding frenzy over the Duck Dynasty story.  How dare people hold opinions different from those promoted by the mainstream media?

This doesn’t mean I agree with the President of Chik-fil-A or Phil Robertson.  But, I can make my own decisions with regard to my interaction with them! (or not).

AND, they have a right to express their opinions!!

If you disagree with the president of Chik-fil-A, so be it.  If you choose not to patronize them, don’t.  If Phil Robertson upsets you, don’t watch the show.  Or watch it and yell at the TV – I don’t care!

Just don’t tell me what is politically-correct to buy or watch.  I make my own decisions, thank you.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Freedom of Speech

  1. “Just don’t tell me what is politically-correct to buy or watch. I make my own decisions, thank you.”

    Agree!. I’ve have never watched Duck Dynasty. I’ve eaten at Chick-fil-A a few times when that was the most/only convenient choice. Their food doesn’t appeal to me. I don’t like Starbuck’s coffee. I avoid WalMart; don’t like the shopping experience. Use a credit union rather than a bank. All are my choices, and I will continue to make my own choices, thank you very much (stronger words under my breath).

    Posted by WellSeasonedFool | December 21, 2013, 9:51 am
    • Sadly, if they cannot ‘nudge’ us through politically-correct ‘public’ opinion to do-think-buy-not buy something, they will make it illegal, or at least make it bureaucratically difficult.
      Our choices, something becoming more rare…

      Posted by guffaw1952 | December 21, 2013, 3:55 pm
  2. You make your own decisions?!? Gasp!

    How dare you? :D

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 21, 2013, 10:08 am
  3. I watch Duck Dynasty for filler on the Slime Oozer because it beats 60% of the other brain dead programming.
    (I could see spending a day or two with the DD crew. Kardashians or Silicone Housewives? – not on a bet)

    A&E is well within their rights to suspend Phil or even cancel the show. It’s their media outlet.
    Not even close to the way I would have handled it but they didn’t ask me. A release saying “His opinion, not Ours” and let the market do its thing would probably have been sufficient.

    They kinda forgot that A&E needs the Duck Dynasty brand a hell of a lot more than DD needs A&E.

    Posted by KM | December 21, 2013, 1:04 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 143,542 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

