you're reading...
annoyance, answers, blog, blogging, choices, computer, customer service, geekery, software

SO…Whatya THINK?

Comodo-IceDragonMy computer is 5 years old, and a rebuild.  A HP 300-1020 20″ Touchscreen AMD Athlon II X2 235e processor 2.70 GHz…w/additional memory, wireless mouse and keyboard.  I cannot afford a new one.

I’m a reluctant Windows guy.  Could never afford the Apple.  Over the past couple of years, I’ve used IE 9, 10, 11, Firefox, Chrome and Opera browsers.  And seem to keep picking up ‘bugs’ on each browser.  Such that spending 20 minutes setting up my daily blog post (with a today’s quote, funny, beauty and You Tube clip) has almost doubled to 40 minutes because of software ‘issues’.  I keep having to switch in mid-publish because a window locks up, or won’t open, or won’t allow copy/paste of instructions…yatta, yatta, yatta.  PITA!

YES, I’ve cleaned up my registry, removed malware.  Regularly.  I run Kasparsky.  I even uninstalled FF and Chrome as they seemed to be the most buggy.  I recently installed Mozilla WaterFox, because it purportedly works better with 64 bit machines.  But some of the same buggery happened.  (Pun intended).

Then, I installed Comodo IceDragon.  Also from Mozilla, but tweaked differently.

Thus far, no apparent bugs.  (Knock-on-wood)

And here’s my question(s) – am I doing anything wrong?  Should I look to an entirely different browser, or blogging software?  I’ve been much happier with WordPress (over Blogger) two of the past (almost) three years!

REMEMBER, when you answer – I an NOT a geek, I only pretend to be one on the blogosphere.

Suggestions?  Ideas?

PS – IceDragon seems to be working well (after two days of blogging and browsing)!  Who knew?

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “SO…Whatya THINK?

  1. You already know more about diffferent browsers than I so no help from here, sorry.
    The logo for IceDragon looks cooler than an e though, I’ll give them that.

    Posted by KM | January 1, 2014, 10:51 am
  2. For what it’s worth, I run Firefox and haven’t had those issues. I only run Internet Exploder when I work from home, since they won’t allow any other browser.

    This is a Dell (Inspiron mumble mumble) about 2 years old, Win 7 64 Bit, Intel dual core 3.2 GHz. I don’t think that’s a whole bunch faster than yours – but I think that CPU speed stopped mattering about 10 years ago. I run AVG free, and between the cable modem and the PC is a WiFi/Ethernet hub that has a hardware firewall inside. It’s a fancy one, a LinkSys Smart WiFi, since I use the WiFi to stream the internet to a Roku box to watch video in the other room. Hardware firewalls may keep offenders out of your system better than software based ones. I think.

    I hadn’t heard of IceDragon, so you’re geekier than I am. My son swears by Opera. Since everything is working for me (knock wood) I don’t see any reason to change, though.

    Posted by SiGraybeard | January 1, 2014, 1:59 pm
    • I liked FF, but it started getting buggy about 6 mo. ago. I went to Opera, then Chrome, then back to IE9, which I upgraded to 10, then 11.
      IE was less buggy, but was still IE, so I kept looking. I’d have stayed on FF if it didn’t start attracting bugs.
      Thanks!

      Posted by guffaw1952 | January 1, 2014, 5:03 pm
  3. On my Win 7 64 bit, I mainly use IE11 and have zero issues, although I have disabled Java and Flash. This may not work for your site needs.

    My suggestion is to try Firefox PORTABLE. It can be run from the desktop, and since it isn’t installed, it exposes your system to somewhat less risk.

    Another suggestion. Download and install (free) Malwarebytes, update the definitions and run a full scan.

    Download and install (free) CCleaner, leave it on its default settings (until you are familiar with it), and run a system and registry scan.

    Ron, Mesa

    Posted by AZRon | January 1, 2014, 6:38 pm
  4. Have you considered a different operating system? Might I suggest Ubuntu. It’s free and there is a slight learning curve but nothing a non-geek couldn’t handle. No real issues with viruses etc. According to your specs your machine should handle it.

    Posted by redbonehound | January 1, 2014, 8:43 pm
  5. I’m an IT Pro.
    And still, buggy stuff just happens every so often. I fought with my email on Juno this morning for about an hour – it wouldn’t let me log in from my latop, but it would from my work laptop, and my cell phone – all same user name and password. Why?? No idea. The laptop had been freshly booted – I left it home while I traveled to VA for a couple of weeks. All anti virus current, malware swept, CCClean run…etc. Just went away after a while, and began working again.

    My work laptop doesn’t like Blogger. For some reason, everything else works except being able to mouse over text in a post and click for an insertion point. I have to do some convoluted stuff to post from my work laptop. All other venues, no problem.

    Skynet is upon us.

    Posted by Jon | January 2, 2014, 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 316 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 153,260 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 316 other followers

