you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', agenda, annoyance, control, fascism, nanny, political correctness

Keep Your Laws Off…

  • RTR32W9K.jpg
    Reuters

Would you rather sip on unpasteurized milk or a cold glass of soda? Do you prefer Saturday lunch at a fast food joint or a farmers market?

Regardless of your choices, your food freedom — your right to grow, raise, produce, buy, sell, share, cook, eat, and drink the foods you want — is under attack. Here are ten food freedom issues to keep an eye on in 2014.  (Fox News)

There’s the usual – trans fat ban, large soda ban, mandatory calorie reporting, etc. It never ceases to amaze me that the same party that so successfully courts the pro-choice vote and the LGBT vote with the concept of keeping government out of the bedroom can get away with telling us what we can or can’t put into our bodies in the dining room or kitchen.

One of the little-reported bits in the ACA is that vending machine companies are going to have to list the nutritional information on everything sold in each vending machine. Naturally, every single thing sold inside the vending machine already has a label listing the nutritional information, but the ACA requires it be on the outside of the machine. Because, you know, someone might think that a Twinkie or  Snickers bar is health food before they buy it.

I hate to break it to the food Nazis, but people eat stuff that’s not good for them. No matter how many places you post the caloric content, people are still going to cram Big Macs, powdered donuts, and chocolate bars down their gullets. You’re not going to stop it with a label, or with fifty labels. And if you think the backlash on guns is bad, just wait until you try to take away junk food.

Why does “keep your laws off my body/out of the bedroom” get turned into “Sure, make laws about what I can or can’t eat,” by the same group, without notice or uproar?  (Jay G.)

Right On! Jay G.!

I love how some folks protest for their rights to be let alone, but demand others fall in line.  I’m thinking, at a minimum inconsistency, but in reality hypocrisy.

PS – this new communist clown in NYC makes the last one look libertarian!  Seriously!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Keep Your Laws Off…

  1. I still cannot fathom why some people crave domination over others. It’s infuriating!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | January 17, 2014, 9:53 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 152,544 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

