you're reading...
agenda, annoyance, civil disobedience, democracy, freedom, government officials, history, libertarianism, personal responsibility, rights, self-evident truths, The Republic

Oh Heavenly Grid!

PREACHER ON TV: …nointed with oil on troubled waters? Oh, Heavenly Grid, help us bear up thy Standard, our Chevron flashing bright across the Gulf of Compromise, standing Humble on the Rich Field of Mobile American Thinking? Here in this Shell we call Life… (excerpted from The Firesign Theatre’s “How Can You Be In Two Places At Once, When You’re Not Anywhere At All”)

Florida City Threatens Woman For Living Off the Grid

|  Feb. 25, 2014

Solar panels

Oregon Department of Transportation

By all accounts, Robin Speronis is engaged in a successful experiment in “living off the grid” in Cape Coral, Florida. The 54-year-old former real estate agent disconnected from city water and power about a year and a half ago. Now she relies on solar panels, propane lanterns, and collected rain water in her duplex and seems quite happy about it. But the city clearly is not. Officials tried to boot her from her home, and have now given her until the end of March to reconnect to the grid. A special magistrate who tossed many of the charges and admits that reasonableness may not play a role in the rules says she will ultimately have to comply. Speronis is standing firm.

You can’t be FREE, all by yourself, doing as you please!  That’s not being part of the collective!  Don’t you know it takes a village?  Resistance is futile!

Okay, all you freedom-loving self-actualized, libertarians and self-governing folks.  Listen up.  The government NEEDS you.

Political power grows out of the barrel of a gun – Mao Tse Tung

h/t Say Uncle

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Oh Heavenly Grid!

  1. I heard about this story a few weeks ago, and was outraged by it when I heard about it, so I investigated further.

    As it turns out, she had been using the city’s sewer system, but had been refusing to pay for it, so now that her sewer has been capped, she is disposing of her solid waste in the trash.

    She also has a criminal record of being basically a professional grifter.

    So, I’m a bit divided on this story.
    If you use city services, you should pay for them.

    If you want to poop in bags and throw them in the trash….well, I guess that’s basically what we do with pet waste.
    If everyone started doing that, it would be pretty gross.

    I don’t really have much sympathy for this lady. I think there’s blame on both sides.

    Posted by Tomi | March 8, 2014, 8:13 am
    • Thanks for the intel!
      Yes, if she’s using city services she should pay for them.
      Unless she’s committing other current crimes, I don’t think her previous record enters into it.

      I think if one can successfully divest oneself of the grid – good for you!
      But, do it right.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | March 8, 2014, 8:25 am
      • Well, I brought up her past record because it seems she’s at least partially hiding behind “living off the grid” as an excuse to be a deadbeat.

        And, in an urban environment, there are legitimate concerns about her sanitary practices.

        Like you said, living off the grid is fine, as long as you are responsible about it.

        Modern sewer systems are a large part of why we don’t have widespread water-borne outbreaks of cholera, dysentery, botulism, e. coli, Legionnaire’s disease, salmonella, typhoid fever, etc., ad infinitum, ad nauseum (*rim shot*).

        Granted, one woman wouldn’t bring the parasitic apocalypse, but if large numbers followed her example….

        Posted by Tomi | March 8, 2014, 11:51 am
      • My main concern was regarding the government forcing her to be in compliance. Of course, I didn’t know she
        was not paying for services.
        I’m not arguing that modern sewer services are bad.
        And, I know some folks with modern private septic systems who are doing their level best to stay off the grid,
        and not involve ‘government’.
        If government forced them to be on the grid, and pay for services they weren’t using, I would have to
        disagree with government.

        Posted by guffaw1952 | March 8, 2014, 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 143,431 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

