you're reading...
American, annoyance, foreign, hysteria, immigration, lost culture, monumental-waste-of-time, political correctness, Shariah, sports

Is It OVER Yet?

Soccer, aka futbol.

Regular readers know I’m NOT a sports fan.  I have been known, however, to sometimes (glance up from my magazine/smartphone in my chair and) watch AMERICAN football, hockey, baseball, even (shudder) Pro-Am golf (to see Hollywood celebs out of their element).  Usually, this happens because I’m downstairs (away from my own TV) and my roommate has the TV on.

Have you noticed this time the World Cup Soccer matches are not only lasting forever, but have been hyped much more?

What’s THAT about?

Of course, it wasn’t that many years ago that Americans didn’t play soccer.  There were no youth soccer leagues or soccer moms.  It was thought of as something foreign, not part of the American character.  After all, we had real football.

But, money talk$.

And advertisers, knowing many soccer fans have developed in the United States (having been in youth leagues here) or moved here from traditional soccer countries.  And now they drink soda and beer and eat Doritos like other good American sports fans.

My Coke Zero 24-pack now comes emblazoned with a soccer ball on it!  So does my American Belgian Budweiser beer.

And this soccer madness seems to be going on forever.  Longer than the March Madness of basketball that messed up my Hopper’s recordings of shows I wanted to watch!

But now that the Americans lost in sudden death, shouldn’t we resume our regular programming?  And change our packaging back to good ol’ American stuff?

no soccerOn a more serious note, I see soccer as part of this international meddling, like trying to change American jurisprudence to Shariah, and using United Nations rules to govern restrict or eliminate our Constitutional rights.

But, hey, it’s only a game, right?

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Is It OVER Yet?

  1. When traditionally TV-free pubs put in televisions to watch the kickball games, it’s gone too far. I too will be glad with the acting and fake injury drama is over.

    Posted by David | July 5, 2014, 8:58 am
  2. What is this “soccer”? A new AR15 manufacturer?

    Posted by KM | July 5, 2014, 9:55 am
  3. Wow. Well, I don’t see it that way at all. I think there was much more soccer excitement in 1999 when the women’s team won the world (women’s) cup and Chastain whipped off her shirt to celebrate.

    The world cup is going to be 32 days long. It was 31 days long last time. It only happens once every four years, hence all the excitement, like the Olympic games. National teams compete against each other in the three years building up, to earn a spot in the cup, so it’s already an achievement to make it there.

    It’s popular all over the world because the game, in slightly different forms, has been played all over the world for thousands of years. It’s also pretty much the ultimate anti-elite sport. All you need is a ball. Any ball will do. A friend of mine saw kids in the Middle East playing with a ball of trash tied into a tight ball.

    You could say that soccer is the ultimate American sport, since the Mesoamerican cultures had a very highly developed form of the game that was played here in AZ by the Hohokam! (Ancient ballcourts have been found in the villages around here).

    My family’s been here since before the Revolution, and my brother’s an avid fan. I don’t think he’s somehow less American for it.

    I just returned from Grand Rapids, MI, where there is a HUGE Dutch population, which some of my husband’s relatives have married into. They were all GLUED to the the Netherlands vs. Costa Rica match on Saturday. (And there was much celebration after the Netherlands won). Does that make them less American? After the Dutch have lived in that part of the country for hundreds of years?

    I don’t know. I just don’t see any evidence of the World Cup being some kind of plot to destroy the US.

    Posted by Tomi | July 7, 2014, 6:32 am
    • Well, on the personal side, any sport that interferes with MY TV viewing is suspect! (tongue-planted-firmly-in-cheek here.)
      I’m not saying others shouldn’t enjoy it – I AM libertarian, after all. I was just addressing how it seems to have bled over
      into our lives.
      Soccer excitement? Is that like military intelligence? :-)
      With regard to being ‘some kind of plot to destroy the US.’, I am seeing more inclusion of foreign culture, words, and governmental ideas into what was once
      a grand experiment as an English-speaking Constitutional Republic. The inclusion of soccer and sharia are just two of these foreign concepts.
      I’m not jingoistic and xenophobic, I just don’t care about soccer.
      If you do, good for you!

      Posted by guffaw1952 | July 7, 2014, 7:32 am
      • No, I’ve never been a fan of any team sports. If a gun were put to my head, I’d say hockey is the most fun to watch.
        I did watch the Netherlands vs. Costa Rica match just because it was on, and the mosquitoes were biting outside. :-)
        And, it gave me something to do with members of the family that I don’t know well and gave us all a mutual topic of conversation. Sometimes, I wonder if that isn’t true of ALL sports. :-) Something most can latch on to as a subject that can always be discussed, like the weather.
        I guess I just don’t see soccer as being foreign, though.

        Posted by Tomi | July 7, 2014, 9:09 am
      • Being a sports orphan(tm) myself, except for the joy of playing, getting exercise, etc., I don’t see much point. Civic pride?
        Of course, there IS the whole gambling aspect – people making (or losing) money based on the results.
        Sports, like politics, is something to discuss, but not be involved in (generally)
        It is another opiate of the masses.

        Posted by guffaw1952 | July 7, 2014, 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 308 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 146,560 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

