you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', American Heroes, analysis, being human, bigotry, cartoons, character, choices, death, defense, goodness, life, love, personal responsibility, political correctness, sacrifice, TV, yutes

Truth, Justice And The American Way

A few years back Superman (2011 in DC Comics) announced he was renouncing his U.S. citizenship!  Now, I’ve not been a comic book reader/consumer since I was 10-11 years old, but I was always a big Superman fan.

I found this action repulsive.  One – that the beloved character would do such a thing, and Two – that in so doing such a children’s fictional comic would make the national news.  After all, they ARE just comic books.

Fast-forward to NOW.  It was announced a couple of months ago (and made the national news again recently) that beloved perennially-in-high-school everyteen comic book character Archie Andrews would die in the comic book.  This was NOT due to his having been in high school 78 years.

It was because he would dive in front of an assailant attacking his friend with a gun, and his taking a bullet for him!  Archie’s GAY friend!

What do I make of this?

Political correctness aside, I like to believe I would have done the same thing for any good childhood friend.  My best friend from third grade through college was a legitimately brilliant.  IQ off the charts.  Socially, less skilled.  But, except for his studies and church, my constant companion.  He was the geek I aspired to be, even though I didn’t have the mental acuity.

After his own father disowned him when he came out of the closet as a college freshman, and my own father lampooned his gayness, I had to stand up for Carl.  Fortunately, no one shot him.  And I, myself, had to overcome childhood indoctrination regarding gayness, and what that means.  After all, sexual preference aside, he remained my friend!

I’m not yet certain how I feel about comic books being tools for political correctness.  Of course, even Peanuts eventually had a Black character.  I suppose comic books must change with the times, as well.  I don’t know how the Archie friend’s character’s gayness is shown to the comic book audience.  Obviously kids are more aware of such things than I was 50-60 years ago.

But, I know one thing.

Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.  –  John 15:13 (ASV)

If we can teach this to the self-absorbed-faces-glued-to-their-cell-phone adolescents, then all is not lost.   If only adults read comic books.

archie

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Truth, Justice And The American Way

  1. Well, you KNOW I’m going to comment when you post about comic books. :-)

    My first thought was, “Did Superman ever have legal citizenship?” Or was he always an illegal alien?
    If you don’t like the idea of Superman renouncing US citizenship you’d really hate the short series the Superman writers did called “Red Son” that speculated on what would have happened if little Kal-El had crash landed in the Soviet Union instead of the US. (Hint: It’s not a happy story!)

    But, that’s the beauty of comic books – they’re sort of the ultimate in speculative fiction. The writers put their icons through all kinds of horrible things: they gain powers, they lose powers, they get betrayed, their friends and family get killed, they fall into alternative universes and timelines, they lose faith in their mission, they battle personal demons, they survive life-altering injuries, they sometimes even die, and sometimes get revived. There are literally no limits in comic books, and that’s what makes them fun, and sometimes frustrating.

    Good for the Archie writers for taking this chance. I’m sure it was taken to try and get people interested in the brand again, through an issue that many young people see as the civil rights issue of their times. Whether it works or not, we shall see.

    Posted by Tomi | July 16, 2014, 9:29 am
    • Well, I don’t know how one legally obtained citizenship in the 30’s. And, can citizenship even apply to a non-human life form?
      Regarding the other universe stuff of the Superman character, I just don’t care.

      My point was hoping the comic book venue introduced the concept of self-sacrifice to young people.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | July 16, 2014, 9:48 am
      • It’s my understanding that the Archie story will introduce the concept of gun banning to young people. As far as I can tell, the fact that Archie’s friend is gay is secondary to the fact that he’s a gun-banning crusader senator.

        Of course I haven’t read it myself, so it’s possible I’m being misled.

        Posted by Joel | July 16, 2014, 4:02 pm
      • Oh now THAT ‘S interesting! I’ m not surprised. I know the progs have played the global warming card in comics for years.

        Posted by guffaw1952 | July 16, 2014, 4:50 pm

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 152,614 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

