you're reading...
anger, annoyance, battles, business, cleaning, customer service, defense, house, insects, personal responsibility, physical health, repeat offenders

ROACH WARS

Chapter 3 –  The Adventure Continues (you needn’t search, there are no chapters 1 or 2…this is like Star Wars!)

roachesI did post previously regarding my neighbors to the South (we live in a common-wall townhouse) who were evicted after it was discovered they have lived in filth for two years, were hoarders and were running a puppy mill, illegally!  And, after they vacated, so did their German roaches.

To OUR place!

The owner/landlady of the neighboring roach nest promised us she’d pay for ALL necessary extermination, etc.  She has spend thousands having hundreds of bags of trash, dog feces, and even the built-in appliances removed from her rental.  One of the bug guys told me when he moved the washer and dryer, there were dead and dying roaches TWO INCHES DEEP underneath!

YUM!

They came and sprayed our place twice.  The first time very thoroughly, including the front outside and our small back yard.  The second time was kind-of a perfunctory, yeah yeah, we gotta spray again thing.  We did tell them they couldn’t dust inside the walls due to my roommates asthma.  Apparently, they took this as some kind of insult.

The incursion has lessened since they finished next door – after TWELVE (12) VISITS!  But, the roaches have obviously established a beachhead here, and we needed to take further action.

As instructed, we contacted the exterminator to discuss our options.  They said they would need to speak with the landlady for additional authorization, which was fine.  But, they were very rude, as if they no longer wanted the money!?

So J. made an executive decision (after all, we’re living in her place).  We went to a do-it-yourself bug place, instead.

Since Thursday last, we have been following instructions, removing all items from the kitchen cabinets in preparation of cleaning, spraying, drilling holes in the kickplates for special chemicals, and finally washing and replacing everything, and leaving bait.  And we’re ALMOST done.

What A MESS!

BUT, this is certainly more thorough than the ‘professional’, and promises to give us more relief.

Or kill us…

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “ROACH WARS

  1. Go to the local True Value Hardware and get some Roach-pruf. Paul Harvey swore by it. I know when I worked at a True Value back in the 80’s, we sold a metric shit ton of that stuff. Everyone I talked to claimed it was the best stuff on earth. Personally, I use Malition mixed double strength. The problem with that is the critters need to be taken somewhere else for a couple hours. I spray that in our back yard too. Gets rid of the fleas and ticks. .

    Posted by robertsgunshop | August 20, 2014, 7:19 am
  2. You’ll never win… but you might break even with them…

    Posted by Old NFO | August 20, 2014, 9:16 am
  3. Roach-Pruf is just boric acid powder. In order for it to work you have to spread enough around so that bugs crawl through it, then have to clean it off themselves.
    This usually makes everywhere you’ve put it look like “Scarface” Tony’s desk.

    Like Robert, I prefer poisonous chemicals that seek out and destroy everything in it’s path.
    I would like to use TNT+Napalm but it’s really hard on the drywall.

    Posted by KM | August 20, 2014, 9:45 am
  4. Had a similar problem once, years ago. Neighbor gave me some serious chemical mix that I sprayed around the outside perimiter of the yard and the outside foundation of the house and door openings. Killed every bug, lizard and mouse that crossed it. Then, we used bug bombs in every room of the house. Didn’t see another but for several years.

    Posted by Matt | August 20, 2014, 11:23 am
  5. Just make sure your skin doesn’t come in contact with any of it while applying. I made myself sick once battling the miserable things – the poison absorbed through my skin.

    Years ago there was a problem house across the alley from ours. When they moved, you could see the stream of roaches as they crossed the alley looking for a new home.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | August 21, 2014, 8:26 am

Leave a Reply

"One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas - how he got in my pajamas I dunno!" - Groucho Marx as Captain Spaulding in Animal Crackers

This election is not about who gets voted off the island.
It’s about who is at the tiller of this Republic’s Ship of State. - Guffaw

THE NOW SHAMELESS BLOGGER’S SURVIVAL FUND

Email

guffaw1952 (at) hotmail (dot) com

What ‘They’ Are Saying About Guffaw…

"Guffaw is 'controversial' " - Vietnam-era Green Beret 'Doc'

"One of my favorites, I love the old P.I. stories. They have a nice Mickey Spillane feel to them." - Siddhartha

"...an avid arms man." - Natalie

"Old Private Investigator Entertainment. OPIE" :-D - North

Liebster Blog Award

x 4 ! Thank you North, Tango Juliet, ProudHillbilly and Fill Yer Hands!

Profiles in Curry

The Book of Barkley

American Flag

Gibson

I Stand With Gibson!

Browncoat

Judy’s Salon

jatjfy (at) live (dot) com (480) 529-6133

Proud Blogfather of

Quizikle

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

The Four Rules

1. ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED.

2. NEVER POINT YOUR MUZZLE AT SOMETHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY.

3. KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET AND YOU ARE READY TO SHOOT.

4. KNOW YOUR TARGET AND WHAT'S BEYOND.

Certified EVIL!

FEAR

"I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain." - Bene Gesserit, from Frank Herbert's Dune

Penn Jillette

“F**k Civility. Hyperbole, passion, and metaphor are beautiful parts of rhetoric. The marketplace of ideas cannot be toned down for the insane.” - Penn Jillette

Blog Stats

  • 152,830 hits

+ blog stats from the PREVIOUS Guffaw in AZ blog…

109,419

Copyright Notice

All original content on this web site is copyright (c) on date of publication by this author. All rights reserved, except that others may quote from the original content under the 'Fair Use' provisions of U.S. copyright law.

Financial Disclosure

I'm currently on disability, unable to work, and receive marginal benefits. I've been advised by SSDI I may receive some additional income. Based on their statements, I'm adding a bleg to this blog. Effective 03/06/2012. Thank you for your kindness.

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

