you're reading...
guns, humor, TMCCC, TV

The Barney Bullet

A few years ago, when I was still working at TMCCC, I met a guy.  He sometimes reads the blog, so I’ll keep him anonymous.
He became a good work friend, and we had many interesting conversations.  He was not, however, an experienced gun guy.
But, he liked firearms, and we’d sometimes talk about gun stuff.
One day, the subject of the extra round, additional to those in the magazine, came up.  The one ‘up the pipe’ in the vernacular.

Dep. Fife, with his namesake bullet

And my friend says, “Oh!  The Barney Bullet!
“What?”, I ask.
And he says, “You know!  Like the extra round Barney Fife keeps in his shirt pocket!  That extra round is called ‘The Barney Bullet’
“EVERYBODY KNOWS THAT!”
Well, I hated to burst his bubble.  In 30+ years of gun handling and training, I’d never heard ANYONE refer to it as that.  Ever.
But, I liked it.  So, I adopted it.  It’s hysterical.
Now, when I watch TV or a movie, and our hero (or a bad guy) cycles a gun action (for dramatic effect)
I always say,”Oh, there goes another Barney!” or “Geez, these guys have to watch where they walk, Barneys all over the floor!”
And, some of my gunnie friends have adopted it too.
It’s amazing how many rounds are wasted, thrown away, by unnecessary action cycling.
(In the movies and TV, anyway.)

But, it looks and sounds cool!  That’s what’s important.
Maybe, one day, my friend’s idea will, indeed, become true!

h/t Judy, and, my anonymous friend

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “The Barney Bullet

  1. I hate to burst your bubble. The Barney Bullet was Deputy Fife's ONLY bullet. He had an empty gun and kept his only round in his shirt pocket.Don Knotts carried a fake bullet in his pocket for years.

    Posted by North | July 6, 2011, 7:42 am
  2. I've heard it for years in the context of shooting sports. "Barney up" means to load the extra round. In IDPA you are required to load to max capacity, so it gets used a lot.http://www.d-s-c.org/idpa/Barney_Round.htm

    Posted by Jason | July 6, 2011, 7:44 am
  3. INTERESTING! Thanks for the correction. They didn't say that when I shooting IPSC, but if they had, it was so long ago, it would have been Barney Rubble!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | July 6, 2011, 8:29 am
  4. You've made my day, GFA and Jason. I have a new word I can use to mess with people.

    Posted by Graybeard | July 6, 2011, 4:24 pm
  5. I first heard about the Barney Bullet from a rookie Phoenix cop, he and his fellow rookies on the force used the term, also Harrison W. and his buddies used it too. I'm glad you have warmed up to the phrase over the years, you certainly were not amused by it at first!

    Posted by Anonymous | July 6, 2011, 10:10 pm
  6. @Anonymous – Thanks. But, I don't use it in training or anything serious.Just for comic relief, when some idiot in a movie cycles his gun before going into action.I'm thinking – "No bullet in the chamber until NOW?"What a maroon!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | July 7, 2011, 8:32 am
  7. I know it's a late comment, but during my LEO days as a State Trooper we used the term all the time. During my day in the Patrol we carried S&W 5906's, (15+1) then went to S&W 4006's (11+1). During troop "inspections" we were required to remove the chambered round (+1) from our pistols for safety when the staff officers inspected our sidearms. We would keep a fully-loaded magazine in our pistols, and put the "Barney Bullet" in our shirt pocket during the inspection. Prior to the actual inspection our Sergeant,or Corporal would always verify that we had our "Barney Bullet" in our pocket! Upon request, we would remove the magazine, lock the slide to the rear, and hand the weapon to the officer for inspection.I haven't thought of that in years!

    Posted by Mark | July 15, 2011, 4:52 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

