you're reading...
9mm, Beretta, guns

Beretta 92 Inox

Part of my completionist thing, mentioned earlier, is, as I already owned a number of 1911-style pistols, obtaining a Beretta 92 would also be good, as they replaced the 1911 as the DoD pistol. (in 1985).  A set of past and current U.S. military service pistols would be cool!
The problem was it just seemed over-sized and clunky.  And blue.
Beretta partially solved my problem.  They manufactured the pistol variant with a stainless steel barrel and slide, the frame anodized to match.  And black rubber stocks.
While I questioned the United States adopting a foreign-made pistol (they did develop a plant in Maryland), and the NATO-friendly 9mm caliber, I figured what the Hell.
She was still over-sized and clunky.  And, not the easiest to conceal.  She shot okay, holding many rounds.
But, unlike a 1911, she just didn’t seem to have a soul.  (I feel the same about Glocks – okay pistol, no soul).
Therefore, she didn’t get much range time.  Mostly when a shooting student wanted to try the current military pistol, or a non-Glock 9mm.
I shot a Beretta 92D, once.  A friend was thinking of selling.  40 S&W – a veritable tack driver!  I should have bought her.
The 92, not so much.
Another safe queen.  Well, princess, maybe.
Not particularly missed.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Beretta 92 Inox

  1. I didn't care much for my old Beretta 92 until I shot Todd Green's AFHF class with it, basically after only bringing it as a back-up gun for my back-up gun. It wound up on the line anyway and by the end of the class I was in love with it. Give it a real, honest try and you'll find that you've got a good shooter there, even if it is too big for concealed carry. (Keep in mind that it wasn't made to be concealed in the first place…)

    Posted by Murphy's Law | August 27, 2011, 12:04 pm
  2. @Murphy's Law – Thanks for the positive vote! I would, except she was in the vault with the other 50+ firearms (and personal papers, checks, credit cards and other valuables) that were stolen when the whole 800# vault was removed by burglars! (fortunately, it was a Fort Knox and no trace of ANY of the firearms or credit cards has occurred!)I suspect the safe remains intact (in Mexico?)FTC – Fort Knox gives me nothing.

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | August 27, 2011, 3:55 pm
  3. The Beretta 92FS is not a bad gun! I too felt much the same as you, but after repairing the range rental and actually shooting it, it is not a bad Handgun at all!

    Posted by Keads | August 27, 2011, 8:14 pm
  4. Thanks, Keads. It wasn't bad. Just didn't trip my trigger, as it were.

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | August 27, 2011, 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 396 other followers

