you're reading...
foolishness, magnum, old-school, revolvers

.38 Magnum – Boring!

Now, in .38 Magnum!  What?

Brigid wrote a post about love of a Colt Python.  Can’t fault her for that.  The Colt is a fine weapon, and a beautiful revolver.  I’ve never been lucky enough to own one.  I’ve shot a few though.
My gun lust, in terms of revolver caliber, was the .357 Magnum. 
You see, I came of gun age when revolvers were the standard.  Semiautomatics were just coming up.  I wanted a .357.  Badly.
When I worked at the closed Legend City amusement park, one of my coworkers, John France (Sheriff’s Deputy-Reservist), had a Smith & Wesson model 64, .38 Special 4″.  He had the cylinder bored out to accept .357 by his barber/kitchen table gunsmith!  He always called it his ‘Magnum’. (I’m certain it was capitalized in his mind!)   ‘Me and my Magnum’, he’d always say.  (Whether or not the Sheriff’s Department ever checked the reservists’ sidearms for function and safety was another matter!)
A couple years later, I was carrying Dave the Mechanic’s Ruger Security Six, as a loaner, while doing security guard duties.  Not having my own .357, I borrowed someone else’s.
One of the janitorial crew had a Colt Detective Special, nickel, he wanted to sell.  He even loaned it to me to take out and shoot!  One of the more interesting features about this .38 Special revolver was someone had bored out the cylinder, so it would take .357 cartridges!  What, again?! 
Of course, I shot it with both .38’s and .357’s.  Took a girl named Ardith out on a ‘shooting date’ with it.  (it didn’t work as I had hoped. *sigh*)  But, as happened often in the 70’s, I couldn’t scare up the $90 he was asking.
In later years, the subject of .38 frame pressures handling .357 loads came up.  But, we were stupid then.
And lucky.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “.38 Magnum – Boring!

  1. Curiosity from a new shooter – what happens when people tinker like that and Things Go Wrong? Physically speaking.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | October 26, 2011, 3:26 pm
  2. At best, you have an interesting story to tell about How You Lost Your Hand..38 Magnum, is that a .38 Spl loaded with Blue Dot and a Magnum primer?

    Posted by TinCan Assassin | October 26, 2011, 3:32 pm
  3. @ProudHillbilly – What TCA said. We were quite lucky!@TinCan Assassin – I used to load 9mm with a Lee Loader and Red Dot. Never was brave enough for Blue Dot!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | October 26, 2011, 7:02 pm
  4. That will work fine until it doesn't. When .357 Magnum first came out, it was considered a supercharged round. Making a handgun to contain it was the challenge. Even now, I am leery of the ultra-lightweights in .357 Magnum. I carry a Ruger SP-101, accepting the extra weight to get the extra steel.Making one out of a .38 has the sound of inevitability built right in.

    Posted by ASM826 | October 30, 2011, 8:30 am
  5. @ASM826 – "the sound of inevitability built right in."Truer words never uttered!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | October 30, 2011, 8:39 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

