you're reading...
CCW, not guns, not holsters

‘Alternative’ Carry

In the real world, sometimes, you just gotta improvise.
I know ex-police officer, leather/nylon gear guy John Bianchi (say bee-Yankee) developed Bianchi’s Law:
“The same gun, the same holster, the same way, every time.”
This is a great idea, in theory, but in the real world, stuff happens:

  • Your holster or belt malfunctions or breaks – happened to me
  • You need to change clothing, but want to keep your firearm possession confidential
  • The situation changes, and you need concealment fast
  • You need to carry a different gun

Time to improvise!
My weight ‘fluctuates’.  As such, my clothes don’t always fit correctly, or the way I’d prefer.  One time, a weak leather dress belt (not designed for supporting a holster and 39 oz. firearm – lesson learned!) simply broke.  Pants almost fell off, containing broken belt and holstered firearm!
I was able to keep everything from dropping, adjourned to the men’s room, and put the armament into my briefcase.  Held my pants up manually, the rest of the day.
As recounted in a previous post, in another situation, I was unable to remove my suit coat for fear of revealing my firearm, inappropriately.
Another time, I was CCW’ing, and was wearing a wool overshirt.  The heat became oppressive, and my female companion (my ex-wife) suggested I tie the sleeves around my waist to cover ‘stuff’!  Brilliant!
The same gun, the same way, every time…
Maybe if you’re a cop, or a SpecOps guy, but civilians have to deal with civilian laws and rules.  Sometimes, guns and gear change.
Like me, no way am I carrying my 1911 in 115 degrees.
As Gabrielle F. Dolly says in Baby Troll Blog ,
Sometimes……Ya jus’ gotta go to war in the unnerwear ya got on.”

h/t John Bianchi, Gabrielle F. Dolly

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “‘Alternative’ Carry

  1. Improvise?!? That's just crazy talk!

    Posted by Tango Juliet | December 26, 2011, 9:29 am
  2. Tango Juliet – HAHAHAHA! Thanks! Needed the laugh!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | December 26, 2011, 9:41 am
  3. Merry Christmas!! Nothing happens the same way every time in civilian life, ever!

    Posted by DirtCrashr | December 26, 2011, 6:50 pm
  4. @DirtCrashr – Merry Christmas to you! Agreed.

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | December 26, 2011, 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

