you're reading...
equipment, gear, geekery, guns, tacticool

Walk and Chew Gum?

Guns, Holster and Gear shows us a new-fangled device certain to revolutionize sport shooting.
A ‘how many are left in your magazine because you can’t count’ device!

When I first began competitive shooting, reflexively, I counted my shots.  That was how I knew it was time to reload.
Then, a more accomplished shooter advised me that under stress, one is unable to count one’s shots.  So, reluctantly taking their advice, I stopped counting.
And my competition scores got worse.
Who knew?
I should have kept counting, dammit!
Hopefully, tacticool mall ninjas won’t decide to adopt this for their carry guns.  I personally just see it as one more thing to break.
Keeping track is simpler.
You can count on it!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.


9 thoughts on “Walk and Chew Gum?

  1. Part of the endless quest of solutions looking for problems?

    Posted by Well Seasoned Fool | December 30, 2011, 9:07 am
  2. WSF beat me to it. They should just use the fingers on their third hand, like I do.Oh. Wait.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | December 30, 2011, 9:41 am
  3. And counting DOESN'T require a single battery to work… Just sayin…

    Posted by Old NFO | December 30, 2011, 10:08 am
  4. Wisdom from ALL!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | December 30, 2011, 10:10 am
  5. I don't try to count. Too many other things to concentrate on, like front sights.

    Posted by Tango Juliet | December 30, 2011, 5:24 pm
  6. @Tango Juliet – Whatever works for you…

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | December 30, 2011, 6:31 pm
  7. I *do* count shots in competition. My hope is that, despite your friend's assertion, I will be able to train myself to count shots under stress.It doesn't matter if I'm not able, though. If a real shooting situation comes and I find I cannot count the shots, but I live and the bad guy does not, I will get no points deducted.

    Posted by FillYerHands | December 30, 2011, 10:25 pm
  8. @FillYerHands – I stopped counting because I believed what I was told. In the bigger picture, I don't think it matters.I'm still convinced we revert to training, if we have training.I may have to begin counting again!

    Posted by Guffaw in AZ | December 31, 2011, 7:40 am
  9. Reminds me of a recent piece from Tam commenting on complicated circuitry for folks who can't turn off their headlights.I count shots in target work, and I try to count them in pretend combat. I have no idea how that would work out if I ever got forced into a real gun fight. My guess is not too well, but, then, I probably wouldn't think to check a shot counting machine, either.🙂

    Posted by Jim | December 31, 2011, 6:08 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

