you're reading...
guns, revolvers

“Gol’ darn, young whippersnappah!”

(the above said in a facsimile of the great Walter Brennan’s voice)

This is my way of suggesting this post is about long ago.  Like the 1970’s.  When I was first learning about guns – correction – had yet to learn much of anything about guns.
I was working as an unarmed security guard (I did have a baton and a hard hat).  And one of the guys at the steel mill where my security guard company was contracted offered to sell me a firearm.  A .38 revolver.
He even let me take it home – to shoot, perhaps to purchase? – for a couple days.  I was thrilled.
It was a Rohm revolver, also known as an RG.
Back then, I knew quality of firearms by their famous name.  Smith & Wesson, Colt, Winchester, Marlin, Savage and a few foreign manufacturers.  Rohm (RG) was not in my lexicon.
But, I really wanted a .38 revolver.  So, I called my friend Bud (the guy who sliced open the web of his hand with Dave’s Mauser HSc) for a look-see.
“It’s a RG, a piece of junk.”  he pronounced.  He explained it was cheaply manufactured in Germany, largely of pot metal.  “It’s better than not having a gun, but not by much”, he said.

Rohm RG .38 Special 4"

Then he explained how a revolver operated, and showed me the flash gap.  The space between the front of the cylinder and the rear of the barrel.  He explained how the gap should be as small as possible, and the surfaces should be parallel to each other.

This RG’s flash gap resembled this:  I /

In his words, “You could throw an elephant through there, and he wouldn’t touch the sides!”

I passed on the RG, and ended up purchasing a Smith semiautomatic.  Not exactly bargain-basement to Tiffany, but a definite improvement.  Certainly better (and safer) than the $25 revolver I’d been offered.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

2 thoughts on ““Gol’ darn, young whippersnappah!”

  1. Ah yes, those were safer if you just THREW them at the bad guys…🙂

    Posted by Old NFO | April 20, 2012, 10:40 am
    • I remember (and own!) an episode of Police Squad, wherein the bad guy runs out of ammo, throws his gun, then Leslie Nielsen does the same. They cut wide to two 55 gallon barrels of guns they keep throwing at each other!
      Sadly, they weren’t all RGs…

      Posted by guffaw1952 | April 20, 2012, 10:43 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

