you're reading...
bloggers, friends, Heroes, history, holidays, veterans, war

Nine Pound Sledgehammer Said It First!…

That sound you heard was me grinding my teeth

Radio: “Memorial Day: It’s about barbeques, auto racing, and shopping at” click
Me: “No, it’s not, it about remembering those who died for our Country you dumbass!” – TinCan Assassin

…and the maroons who say ‘Happy Memorial Day’ on TV and Radio.

…and Brigid said it best!  It’s Not About a Day Off from Work

No reason to be maudlin.  Solemn would be nice.  Remembrance.

I used to spend Memorial Day watching Uncommon Valor, but I can’t anymore.  It’s just a movie.

Mark A. Bell, USN
1952 – 2012

I miss you brother.  Thank you for your service.
(click on the photo to see what I previously wrote about my friend – Guffaw)

h/t Tin Can Assassin, Cathy Bell, Brigid, and all who gave all

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Nine Pound Sledgehammer Said It First!…

  1. “No reason to be maudlin. Solemn would be nice. Remembrance.”

    Indeed. I finally made peace with the ghosts, but it still leaves me sad.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | May 28, 2012, 9:46 am
  2. I wish I’d met Mark, but I know he brought much into your life.

    Big hug, my friend, and thank you for all that you are.

    Posted by Brigid | May 28, 2012, 10:34 am
  3. I went to the range, THAT is how I remember my friends, by being prepared, and thankful they gave their all so that we are still free!

    Posted by Old NFO | May 28, 2012, 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

