you're reading...
'science', analysis, CCW, comfort, concealment, gear, gun culture, tacticool, training

How many rounds should you carry?

Mike, of Mike’s Spot does a rather succinct mathematical analysis of exactly this question.  Most ‘regular’ CCW folks I know carry a minimum:  one speedloader, one spare magazine, one speed strip.  The math would suggest TWO be the minimum.

I know, we’re mostly all about convenience.  If we could carry a Wondernine 5000 with 14 spare magazines holding 30 rounds each, AND have body armor with built-in GPS calling the police and ambulance service as soon as there was bullet contact all completely concealable and no extra weight, we’d do it.

But the real world is quite different.  Hey, it’s 114 today, I’ll carry the snub instead of the 1911, and maybe one five-round speed strip.  In a lighter caliber with magic bullets.  There!

Mike’s last line got my attention, after all the analysis:

Always keep in mind though, if ever you need to defend yourself with a firearm, KNOW that if you can’t get some good COVER, not concealment pretty early on in the fight, or your family will be reading a eulogy in your honor with a big emphasis on bravery.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “How many rounds should you carry?

  1. When I’m out and about, I carry the 1911 (8 + 1), plus two 8-round magazines. I figure if that’s not enough to get me out of trouble, I should have run farther/faster/stayed away.:)

    Posted by Rev. Paul | July 3, 2012, 8:25 am
  2. Mine holds five and that is what I carry. I don’t kid myself I can prevail in an extended gun fight.

    Posted by WSF | July 3, 2012, 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

