you're reading...
celebrate, friends, holidays

November 24…

The birthday(s) of…

Baruch Spinoza
philosopher, writer   d: 1677

Zachary Taylor
U.S. President   d: 1850

Scott Joplin
composer, musician, guitarist, pianist, bugler   d: 1917

Alben Barkley
U.S. Vice President   d: 1956

Dale Carnegie
lecturer, author   d: 1955

William F. Buckley, Jr.
writer, commentator, editor   d. 2008

Pete [Randolph] Best
musician, drummer

Donald [Duck] Dunn
musician, bassist   d. 2012

Dwight Schultz  (The ‘A’ Team)

Stanley Livingston  (My Three Sons)

…and of course,

Guffaw aka gfa, which makes me 60 (!) today

Frankly, if I’d known I was going to live this long, I’d have taken better care of myself!  😛 , OR
from Mad Magazine’s Snappy Answers to Stupid Questions
(ancient withered guy in bed, questioned by reporters)

“To what do attribute your long life?  “To the fact I haven’t died, yet!”

PS – a party was feted in my honor November 16, brought together by my ex-wife(?!).  She contacted friends and relatives and we all met at my favorite pizza place.  Thanks, again, everyone!  While it wasn’t exactly back stage with the Stones, everyone seemed to have a good time.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.


36 thoughts on “November 24…

  1. Happy birthday, my friend. Oh – and re: Brigid … a gentleman would never, ever mention a lady’s age, unless the number “39” is involved. :^) I hope yours is a good one!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | November 24, 2012, 7:45 am
  2. Congratulations!

    Posted by MamaLiberty | November 24, 2012, 7:50 am
  3. Happy Birthday! Hope the next year is even more fun!

    (And yes, I followed Brigid’s suggestion. Hey, the lady has firearms, chocolate, and whiskey. I know when it’s wise to do what I’m told!)

    Posted by Wing and a Whim | November 24, 2012, 8:04 am
  4. “she’d hurt us”. You are indeed wise.

    Have a wonderful day my dear friend! I have crossants baking and going to check on Tam (I’m not sure if croissants fall into the “feed a cold” thing, but they can’t hurt with the flu).

    Posted by brigid | November 24, 2012, 8:07 am
  5. Happy Birthday GFA, and many more. Provided you remember that Brigid is only 39. My Mother called to wish me Happy Birthday last year. She’s been 29 since I turned 11.

    Posted by Don | November 24, 2012, 8:33 am
  6. Happy Birthday, Buddy. Enjoy!

    Posted by Matt | November 24, 2012, 8:53 am
  7. And many more!

    Posted by WellSeasonedFool | November 24, 2012, 8:59 am
  8. Happy Birthday.
    I turned 60 back in January; getting old sucks.

    Posted by BobG | November 24, 2012, 10:26 am
  9. Happy Birthday Pard!

    I like to celebrate mine flinging some ammo but its in June and that’s indoor range time of year for me.
    (thank God there’s a Shooters World on the west side now!)

    Posted by KM | November 24, 2012, 11:07 am
  10. Wow! Sharing as birthday with both Dwight Schultz and Donald “Duck” Dunn…Rock on! And here’s wishing you many more from Murphy and me.

    Posted by Murphy's Law | November 24, 2012, 11:32 am
  11. Happy Birthday youngster…🙂 And many more!!!

    Posted by Old NFO | November 24, 2012, 11:46 am
  12. HBD from a fellow Zonie!

    Posted by JohnW | November 24, 2012, 12:16 pm
  13. Happy BDay my friend!

    Posted by keads | November 24, 2012, 1:14 pm
  14. Happy Birthday to you and Howlin’ Mad Murdock! (I knew who that was without looking it up.)

    Posted by Larry | November 24, 2012, 1:50 pm
  15. Happy Birthday!!!

    Posted by Christina LMT | November 25, 2012, 11:27 am
  16. Happy Birthday!

    Posted by Jon | November 25, 2012, 2:20 pm
  17. Happy Birthday Guffaw!!

    Posted by PISSED | November 26, 2012, 9:21 am
  18. I am so very behind on everything. I am sorry I missed your birthday! Please forgive me and accept my belated birthday wishes!!

    Posted by A Girl And Her Gun (@agirlandhergun) | November 29, 2012, 6:13 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

