you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', computer, gear, geekery, technology

A Moment in Guffaw’s PC History!

not with THIS machine, though!

not with THIS machine, though!

I’ve been on the Internet since 1993.  Bulletin boards and such.  IRC.  I used dial-up.  Then computer memory became too complex and massive to handle a straight analog telephone connection.

So I got broadband.  Expensive broadband.  And it served me well, when I could afford it.

Then, my roommate gave me her  Wi-Fi hotspot.  Much like broadband, a little less expensive, but a little spotty with coverage and speed.

NOW, she decided to get a cable modem and router…

Remarkable!  I connect faster, more quality, security and speed!.  And it’s only showing 4 of 5 bars at peak periods!  (I’m upstairs from the router.)  No buffering on video!  For the first time in Guffaw’s PC History!

Live and learn.

PS – I no longer have the Timex Sinclair.  I’ve moved past 16K…

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.


8 thoughts on “A Moment in Guffaw’s PC History!

  1. 16K? Big machine (for us old-timers).

    Posted by Ed Skinner | January 13, 2013, 7:08 am
  2. I had a sinclair computer back in the day, then an apple II E. Boy was that an expensive computer – $2500 in 1983 dollars. 64k ram, no hard drive, just two floppy drives.
    Welcome back to broadband Guff!

    Posted by kx59 | January 13, 2013, 7:09 am
  3. I remember those monsters… My first one was one that I built out of parts… sigh

    Posted by Old NFO | January 13, 2013, 8:00 am
  4. Started with a Commodore 64, then graduated to a bargain-basement Turbo XT, with an 8088 processor clocking at 2K. Oh yeah, there was the dual-5.25″ floppy drive PC at church with no hard drive. I don’t miss those days at all.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | January 13, 2013, 10:27 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

