you're reading...
beauty, enthusiam, equipment, maintenance, not guns, protection, swords and knives

A Cut Above…

Collectors Weekly takes us back to another time – to a more elegant weapon.

“When I got this sword, it was completely covered in blood rust.” Sword maker Francis Boyd is showing me yet another weapon pulled from yet another safe in the heavily fortified workshop behind his northern California home.

“You can tell it’s blood,” he says matter-of-factly, “because ordinary rust turns the grinding water brown. If it’s blood rust it bleeds, it looks like blood in the water. Even 2,000 years old, it bleeds. And it smells like a steak cooking, like cooked meat. I’ve encountered this before with Japanese swords from World War II. If there’s blood on the sword and you start polishing it, the sword bleeds. It comes with the territory.”

Swords, sword history, swordmaking, swordcraft.  This is the domain of Francis Boyd, swordmaker extraordinaire.

100YearDouble

a 2000-year-old, 100 layer sword in his collection

I’m fascinated by weaponry.  Especially that which I might be able to own and actually employ.  Sadly, while most equipment is now out of my reach, I still enjoy the appearance of fine craftsmanship.  The long dedication of the master gunsmith or sword-maker.  No plastic here!  (Sorry Gaston Glock!)

You should go to the link above and learn.  I did.

“If there’s blood on the sword and you start polishing it, the sword bleeds.”

h/t Miss Cellania

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

One thought on “A Cut Above…

  1. My brother suggested I might like this blog. He was once totally right.
    This publish truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info!
    Thank you!

    Posted by Burkhardt and Larson | April 26, 2013, 12:58 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

