you're reading...
agenda, customer service, health, not me

No NRA Cancer Insurance (or soup) for me…

I received a large envelope from the NRA in the mail yesterday.  On the outside it said Health Care Reform 2013.

I was intrigued.  After all, I’m on disability and Medicare, and any help with things medical and insurance would be welcome.  I cannot afford any ‘doughnut hole’ coverage.

So, I began to peruse the envelope’s contents.  Basically, it appears to be coverage for cancer, and will pay up to $300,000 CASH directly to the policy holder (eligible NRA members) in case of such a diagnosis.  They even include a plastic membership card!

AND, the fees are quite reasonable.  Even I can afford them!  ($6.77/month at my age)

But, alas…

The not-so-fine print states I cannot apply if I’ve been diagnosed and/or received treatment for CANCER, Leukemia or Hodgkin’s Disease within the past 10 years.  They do allow skin cancer (which I also have had)!

And I had lymphoma, which was treated with chemotherapy, within that time frame.

No cancer coverage or soup for me!  I do still have Medicare, though (?)soup

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “No NRA Cancer Insurance (or soup) for me…

  1. Sorry to hear that, but according to Obummer, you’re going to get ‘free’ coverage… right? Right???

    Posted by Old NFO | May 19, 2013, 8:17 am
  2. But but but Obeyme said everybody gets free everything. Right? Right?

    Posted by Rev. Paul | May 19, 2013, 8:39 am
  3. How do I get the cancer ins. info?

    Posted by Betty Riddle | November 3, 2013, 10:56 pm
  4. The policy is horrible, you don’t want it anyways. I am currently helping a parent file claims on one they have held since the 80’s. The fine print now tells us that the lifetime MAXIMUM payout for chemo is $1,000, $60 per day you are in the hospital (NO hospital expenses), and $750 MAXIMUM payout per surgery for surgeon bills. For over $450,000 in medical/cancer expenses last year, just received a check for a whopping $2,500. Don’t read the scam marketing materials, ask for a copy of the actual policy, because that is now what they are referring us back to.

    Posted by Sara | March 28, 2014, 10:42 am
    • Thanks for your information.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | March 28, 2014, 3:53 pm
    • Sara – we are in the same boat here! My father in law has had cancer for two years. We JUST found out he has had this cancer policy – the NRA Life Insurance Company of North America. This is a disgrace! Can you even believe what you read?!I know I can’t! $750 IF you have a craniectomy for your brain tumor. Oh…and as a woman, you can get a big $250 if you have a partial mastectomy – but wait! It goes up to $350 if it’s a Radical Mastectomy! I seriously haven’t EVER seen anything like this! AND it gets better! He has had this insurance FOR YEARS and we didn’t even know it. And lo and behold, we see that they end him a RIDER in 2009. OMG – it says IF he pays the extra premium, the company will pay benefits for diagnostic x-ray, diagnostic laboratory tests, or any procedure which is designed to aid in the diagnosis of cancer. The benefit payable under this rider shall be $60 per procedure with a maximum of ONE PROCEDURE PER CALENDAR YEAR FOR ANY ONE INSURED PERSON!! I seriously had to read that one about 5 times because I couldn’t believe it! I am going to write to the Attorney General or Insurance Commissioner of our state. This is robbery – preying on the elderly big time. THIS POLICY DOESN’T PAY A THING!!! If you had surgery on every single area of your body, maybe you’d cash in on a couple thousand….but ONLY if you are hospitalized! We took my father in law to the hospital because he was so weak he couldn’t walk, was confused, and was in pain. Yes…he has cancer. He needed help…he needed relief from the pain. So we had the ambulance take him as it’s quite a ways. The admitted him under OBSERVATION – nothing else – so Medicare won’t be paying for the first 3 days. On the 4th day, they finally discovered his hemoglobin was 8 – AND he had a blood clot in his leg!! Ok…so NOW I guess he NEEDS to be in the hospital…so that was DAY 1 that Medicare would cover. My husband has raised holy hell. The Dr. didn’t care – that is what he diagnosed, period. And of course the wonderful NRA Insurance won’t pay a damn dime either! Save your money people!! Don’t take out this insurance! It’s worthless!

      Posted by jpuppe | March 30, 2014, 12:08 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

