you're reading...
car, equipment, friends, good wishes, gratitude, maintenance, TMCCC, whining less

♫ You’ve Got To Have Friends…♫

I’ve been known to be self-centered.  It’s one of my character defects.  Not to make excuses, but, I’ve had many bad things happen in my life.  I need to remember many other people have things much worse.

I own a 2000 Oldsmobile Intrigue.  Not my first choice, but the 1989 Isuzu Trooper gave up the ghost @ 170,000 miles.  In 2002.  And I didn’t have many choices, due to my financial condition.

All things considered, she’s been a good car.  Very reliable, except batteries (an Arizona heat constant) and failing engine sensors – something I’m told starts happening around 125,000 miles.  She has 137K.  And her A/C stopped working three or four years ago.  Not a big deal in much of the U.S., but in Arizona, a big deal.  115 degree Summers, and all.

I’ve been blessed with a cadre of terrific friends, who have given their time, money, effort and moral support over the years.  Two of these friends are Ms. T. and Mr. K.

I met them when I worked @ TMCCC.  T was a co-worker when we were doing credit card fraud investigations.  K later joined the department.  Both were going to school to further their educations and employment opportunities.  T now teaches at the college level, and K is an engineer at a major aircraft firm.

K became aware of my Intrigue’s air conditioning problems when he and T helped me move last Summer.  And said he would check into it.  I know he’s busy, so I didn’t push him.  After all, it’s been years.

Last week, T called and asked if I were available.  K was making his auto-mechanic rounds among friends and wanted to stop by to assess my car.  I said please.

In short, after some analysis and addition of new coolant (including some with stop-leak) my Olds’ air conditioning is now working!  And, as she’s not quite fully charged, he asked me to check back with him in a month and advise if she’s losing coolant, so more could be done.

I’m speechless.  So I’m writing.  :-)

I could go on and on about having a 14 year old car.  Or losing my home last year.  Or being on disability and barely making it.  Or having numerous medical ‘issues’.

But, that’s the wrong attitude.  K is one of those men who just gives.  And is uncomfortable when he is thanked for his doing so.

♫You’ve got to have friends.♫  

Thank you, regardless, K.  And T.  For all you do and have done.  You’ve got to have friends!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “♫ You’ve Got To Have Friends…♫

  1. That. That’s what friends do – and it’s awesome.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | May 28, 2013, 8:26 am
  2. In AZ that’s not just a friendly act, it’s a life saving one! 🙂
    Nice guy to have done that.

    Posted by KM | May 28, 2013, 9:21 am
  3. +1 on Rev!

    Posted by Old NFO | May 28, 2013, 4:35 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

