you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', 'R' rated, actors, Hollywood, lust, women

The Daughters of Mrs. Peel

I first saw The Avengers (the Patrick McNee BBC vehicle, not the comic books or movies) in the mid 60s, about the same time I hit puberty.

diana1And with it, Mrs. Emma Peel (Dame Diana Rigg).

YOWZA!

She didn’t have a huge top, nor was she actually skilled in the use of firearms, judo and karate.  But, my hormones didn’t care.  Here was a smart, sexy woman, dressed every-so-often in a  black (or blue, or some other color) leather catsuit.

And I’ve been hooked ever since.

Not just she, but all her descendants and antecedents – because there were some predecessors I’d not seen prior, or hadn’t noticed because puberty hadn’t yet hit.

catwoman

Julie Newmar as Catwoman

Honor Blackman (who played her predecessor on the British-only Avengers) played Pussy Galore in Goldfinger, at times in a catsuit.  Of course there was Honey West, Catwoman, and a whole bevvy of slinky women in catsuits since.

And they keep showing up!  The cat burglar who replaces the broken.missing valuables in the insurance TV commercial being the most recent.

It seems SEX sells.

Who knew?

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “The Daughters of Mrs. Peel

  1. Damn, those were the days. These kids now have it all spelled out to plain, no imagination.

    Posted by wildriver | August 4, 2013, 9:08 am
  2. Yep, imagination… And they played to it well!

    Sent from my iPhone.

    Posted by Old NFO | August 4, 2013, 2:11 pm
  3. And I’m the target demographic. Rowr!

    Posted by Murphy's Law | August 4, 2013, 6:59 pm
  4. I’ve been told that facially, I bear a striking resemblance, I don’t see it but think my daughter could be her twin. I too remember the show, but at the time I had a serious grade school crush on one of the Man From Uncle guys.

    Posted by Brigid | August 8, 2013, 4:57 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

