you're reading...
apre'-shooting, choices, common sense, dry practice, dysfunction, equipment, errors-in-judgement, targets, training

Paper or Plastic? (or Glass?)

bottlesI’ve been shooting, as an adult, since 1974.  And, I’ve made some mistakes, like occasionally failing to follow The Four Rules (see the sidebar).  Those stories have been recounted here.  Fortunately, no serious injuries have resulted.  I have learned from my mistakes.

But there are other errors-in-judgement in which I’ve not participated, fortunately.  And I keep seeing them on TV Shows.  Not old movies like The Shootist, but modern television, like Top Shot and Sons Of Guns.

PEOPLE SHOOTING GLASS IN NATURE

Why would anyone want to spoil a natural environment using bottles or other glass objects as targets?  Plastic milk jugs, aluminum cans, paper and cardboard targets can all be policed up and taken away with us, leaving the desert (forest, etc.) relatively unspoiled.

I think it was Col. Cooper who said shooting glass leaves behind a legacy spoiling the shooting area for many generations.  And some folks with whom I’ve shot say it’s their DUTY to leave the area nicer than when they started!

Let’s police the area, pick up our targets and pick up our brass, people.

It’s for the children!  🙂

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Paper or Plastic? (or Glass?)

  1. Agreed, sir. We used to save the plastic milk jugs, filled with water, and then frozen solid. They make great, inexpensive substitutes for gel, for checking the impact of the rounds fired on a target.

    I started on tin cans as a young’un, at the age of six. They can be picked up, too. 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | October 9, 2013, 8:44 am
  2. THANK YOU!! One of my pet peeves – Slob Shooters.
    They have done as much to shut down shooting areas close to town as libtard democrats.
    It ticks me off how far I have to drive to let my dogs run around just to get away from all the damn glass that fools have shot.
    Went out recently with friends to do some sighting in. We blasted 11 1gal jugs, picked up everything, including the plastic caps/blown off labels and policed up ALL the casings, even the non-reloadable ones.
    It isn’t that hard to be a responsible human being.

    Posted by KM | October 9, 2013, 9:01 am
    • You are more than welcome!
      One of my pet peeves, too!
      (I have shot glass, but over tarpaulins which were then collected up – too messy, anyway)
      My recent shooting (when I can) is paper and cardboard, picked up when through.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | October 9, 2013, 9:41 am
  3. The ONLY place I shot glass or tin cans and didn’t pick them up was at the landfill… Everywhere else, yes pickup and leave the area nicer!

    Posted by Old NFO | October 9, 2013, 4:36 pm
  4. It really is terrible. Glass is a no-go. It just shows absolute disrespect for the great outdoors. (the great outdoors that has sustained human life since before history was recorded in the written word.) When I started shooting in the desert back in the mid 70’s, I was glad that other shooters were slobs. A patient scrounger, and a reloader, if I spent two hours shooting, I’d spend three hours walking the site, picking up my brass, and any other cases that would fit into my dies.

    Years later, I was seeing stolen cars, washing machines, and old TV’s left on public land after being shot to hell. Is it any wonder that these areas have been barred from “sportsmen?” Once in a while you’d get a notice that a group had secured a front-loader and ask for volunteers to spend a day on a group clean-up effort. I went 2 or 3 times, and applaud their dedication. But everytime, there were far fewer helpers than the TV shooters that preceeded us. The amount of garbage coming out of these sites was daunting. Sad, damn sad. (cue Iron Eyes Cody)

    Bitch as I might, it’s no wonder that the EPA and the BLM has shut down firearm legality on vast swaths of public land. There are those among us who deny all logic. I imagine that they’re also the first to decry “I’m a victim”.

    If you bring in two pounds, take out three pounds. It’s not a difficult concept. (some people still need to have their tush blistered with a switch)

    If it’s a paper or cardboard target that gets away from you in a breeze…it’s not a hanging offense. Even steel “brass” has a fairly short half-life. If you want to shoot plastic “bottles” (as I do) , just take them with you when you leave.

    If you wan’t to shoot glass bottles, washing machines, television sets, cars…etc…then there’s no other way to put it. You’re not a gun guy, you’re an a$$h@le.

    Posted by Sonolou | October 10, 2013, 11:43 pm
  5. I try to pick up a bag of apples on the way to the range. Big bang when you hit them, food for the wildlife when we leave.

    Tip: not appreciated by those who operate indoor ranges. I suggested leaving the doors open after hours, but noooooo.

    Posted by Fill Yer Hands | October 11, 2013, 2:38 pm

Leave a comment

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…