you're reading...
birthday, celebrate, family, history, life, remembering

Happy Birthday, Joe!

Today is my Big Bro’s Birthday!  Happy Birthday, Joe!

joeAs he is 12 years my senior, we never bonded as siblings very much.  My Dad married my Stepmother and we moved into her house with her almost grown children. (I’ve also a stepsister, Karen, who lives with her retired Army LTC in Alaska.  I’ve written of him in these pages.)

He, much like my Father was, is a sports nut.  I don’t think he’s as obsessed as my Father was, though.  He’s always kept in shape, and looks great considering his age.  I’m certain that’s because he still plays sports and is very active.  He spends Summers back in Illinois at a relative’s place ‘working the farm’.

Not exactly a Summer a couch-potato like myself aspires to!

He followed his Mother into elementary education, and retired a few years ago after years of teaching the 6th Grade, predominately Math.  Had to have been a labor of love, right?

I’ll always be grateful to him.  When we moved into my Stepmother’s home, everyone had to double-up.  My sister’s shared a room, and my brother and I shared a room.  As a newly-minted Third Grader I liked it.  I cannot image my college man brother appreciating it, though!

But, he never complained, at least to me.  We spent many a Friday night watching TV together (Friday Night in 1960-61 was replete with Westerns!) and sharing a bag of potato chips.

And he spent many of the past twenty years caring for his mother in her declining years.  I admire him for his selflessness.

Happy Birthday, Joe!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.


8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Joe!

  1. Happy Birthday to Big Bro!

    Posted by Rev. Paul | January 17, 2014, 9:51 am
  2. Just this morning I was trying to compose a letter to my two older sisters. Everything I wrote seemed either too morbid or too “touchy-feely” upon proofreading.

    Thank you for a great example of a letter to an honored friend.

    I’ll tip one to Joe and my sisters. (after I re-write my letter)

    Posted by AZRon | January 17, 2014, 12:00 pm
  3. Happy Birthday to him, and y’all have a GOOD family!

    Posted by Old NFO | January 17, 2014, 4:16 pm
  4. Brothers and sisters are so good to have. If we don’t live for family, what do we live for?
    Nice for you to pay tribute to your bro. Happy birthday Joe.

    Posted by KM | January 17, 2014, 10:31 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

