you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', analysis, annoyance, BLOGGER, bloggers, customer service, free software, geekery

Computer Software (#$^%^&*&amp-ing) Update

In a manner of speaking…

Essentially, I’m still using WordPress to blog; Comodo IceDragon as a browser.  They work pretty well, and coupled with Kaspersky, Malwarebytes, etc.  I’m having very few problems.

EXCEPT…

I’m still unable to post comments on some other BLOGGER-based blogs.  Not all.  When I hit ‘enter’ the carefully-worded comment goes into the ether.

The blogs in question are (because they are both some of my favorites and friends in no particular order):

Stormbringer, Free North Carolina, Well Seasoned Fool, From the Caer, The Silicon Graybeard, Bells A Ringing ,Nine Pound Sledgehammer, Musings Over A Pint,  Lagniappe’s Lair, and Way Up North.

So, if you’ve missed seeing my byline, this could be why.

My apologies.

Others, like Brigid and Tam, seem to work unimpeded!? (Which is a good thing, as they are blogmothers, and all!)

Now, if only I had the solution…  I know I could revert to Firefox, IE 11 (shudder!), or Opera, but then there’s their bugs with which to contend!

buellerAnyone, Bueller, Bueller?

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Computer Software (#$^%^&*&amp-ing) Update

  1. I know nothing about these things. The only comment I can make is that back when you were on “Blogger” I had the problem with my comments disappearing when I hit “enter” or whatever the button was called. It didn’t happen EVERY time, it seemed to be random. It’s never happened to me since you switched to WordPress. I use Chrome, which I know you’ve already tried.
    Just basing on the anecdotal evidence from myself and what you’ve reported, I suspect it’s a Blogger issue. Why it doesn’t happen with all the Blogger blogs is beyond my ken.

    Posted by Tomi | February 9, 2014, 8:31 am
    • I remember. BLOGGER unto itself IS a piece of work! Sadly, issues with Chrome, too!

      ‘Why it doesn’t happen with all the Blogger blogs is beyond my ken.’ Of course, I thought of an exchange between
      Sheldon and Penny on The Big Bang Theory. He says something is beyond her ken. Her response,
      “Well, your Ken can kiss my Barbie!” :-)

      Posted by guffaw1952 | February 9, 2014, 8:47 am
  2. Your issues with commenting on my site seems to occur concurrently with my change from a pop-up comment window to “embedded” comments, to allow replies to others’ remarks. That was done at the request of another commenter.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | February 9, 2014, 12:00 pm
  3. I can’t post on some people’s blogs in internet explorer, but firefox will work for them.

    Posted by brigid223Brigid | February 9, 2014, 1:31 pm
  4. I’d say try Firefox… Other than that I have NO idea… I sometimes have problems commenting too, depending on the blog…

    Posted by oldnfo | February 9, 2014, 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 395 other followers

