you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', computers, geekery, not guns, technology

Well, Here I Go Again!

I’ve recounted before in these pages how I am at best a proto-geek.  I knew and know geeks, nerds and geniuses, and pal around with them, but never made the cut with regard to technical knowledge.

(Much as I am with car mechanics – I know where the brakes are and what they do – I just cannot repair them!)

Yes, things have improved from fledgling Guffaw in the 80’s with his Timex-Sinclair 2k computer.  And from the 1992 286 machine with a 300 baud dial-up modem.  But this computer/Internet jazz is still in it’s infancy.

If I turn on the television or the radio, it works!  I don’t have to replace parts or fiddle with it’s innards to get it to work correctly.  THIS is my hope for the evolution of the whole computer thing.

I did ‘something’ to Judy’s printer (with her generosity we share) with regard to the wireless settings.  The short answer is it no longer works, wirelessly.  As we both have physical issues, running up and down the stairs to see if something printed is a problem.  So, we connect (or try to) wirelessly through our router, and viola, printouts!  Until I messed something up!

I spent hours searching the Internet for answers, but, to know avail.  I finally decided to bite-the-bullet and buy a newer printer.  After much research, I found a similar model, with even simpler wireless connectivity, and doled out the funds.  Thankfully, they’ve gotten even less expensive!

After a minor snafu with Amazon Prime (two-day shipping isn’t always) I received the printer, and set it up.  The computer itself told me it was correctly set up, and PRESTO!

Nothing…

SO, I spent over TWO HOURS with an East Indian Help Desk tweaking the computer, the printer and my brain.  STILL nothing.  Finally the techoguru (who spoke perfect English, but with a VERY heavy accent) said I should change the settings on my firewalls, or even turn them off!

And, of course, there was little knowledge I could use from the Internet, as I AM NOT A GEEK!

And it STILL says it’s correctly connected and IT STILL WONT PRINT!

arrghGOOD NEWS UPDATE!  After all of the above trials and using suggestions from the comments (Thank You!), AND removing one of my firewall programs (there are others), AND reloading the drivers, I now can FINALLY PRINT!!

 

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Well, Here I Go Again!

  1. I feel your pain.

    My new printer is doing a strange thing where I have to unplug, then plug it back into the USB port in order for it to start printing.
    I haven’t had time to investigate the problem yet. Especially when there’s a quick fix.

    Posted by Tomi | March 29, 2014, 9:23 am
  2. Yeah, printers can be a pain. For me, usually, it’s a small matter like running out of paper in the middle of a job. The problem (for me) starts with pending work in queue. Refilling the paper tray, and hitting “reset” often does no good. Discumbobulation ensues.
    You might try:

    http://mikesmagicbox.com/free-tools/print-queue-cleaner/

    It has saved me more than once during tax season.

    Posted by AZRon | March 29, 2014, 11:37 am
  3. So, you have two printers and neither works. Well… barring a house visit, why not procure two USB cables and hook up each printer to each computer?

    Posted by g2-cdb27520fb49967abcc1c55ca90a2fef | March 29, 2014, 1:56 pm
  4. I have had the same problem when installing a new printer. Turn everything off and turn it back on – viola! The printer works. Don’t ask me why they don’t tell you this in the instructions. Good luck!

    Posted by zinger3006 | March 29, 2014, 3:09 pm
  5. Good luck with that… Plug and play usually means plug it in and ‘play’ with settings for a couple of days to get the #@$% thing to print!

    Posted by oldnfo | March 29, 2014, 5:33 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

