you're reading...
'science', American, food, health

There’s A New Burgermeister In Town!

It’s no secret I likes me ‘unhealthy’ food.

If it’s fatty, sugary, bacon-laden, greasy – well, you get the picture.

I do get vegetable matter, primarily through salads.  But, I do like my dressing, croutons, bacon-bits and cheese added.  And I usually drink Coke Zero.  Sometimes beer.

My endocrinologist is not particularly happy with some of my choices (being diabetic, and all), but except for a four year excursion into macrobiotics (wherein I eschewed beef, dairy, sucrose, pork, refined wheat and caffeine), but my numbers are good, and I’ve proper meds,  so I don’t care.

When it comes to burgers, I like taste.  A super-lean turkey or veggie burger just doesn’t do it for me.  What-A-Burger, The Chuckbox, Original Hamburger Works, Thirsty Lion and Culver’s produce fine hamburgers, each different in their own way.  The Chuckbox, Thirsty Lion and Original Hamburger Works have the added joys of beer.  Culver’s has frozen custard, and primo crinkle French fries.

Now there’s a new burgermeister in town!  Freddy’s Steakburgers (and Frozen Custard)!  Similar to the Culver’s chain, but with a smaller menu, Freddy’s has delicious burgers and fries.  Had the frozen custard the other day – tasty, and not overly sweet.  The French fries are very thin, and crisp, and properly cooked – not like the death sticks from some fast-food establishments.  (In-N-Out, are you there?)

Macrobiotics was a long, strange trip.  I felt terrific, slept well, and had amazing energy.  But the lure of the bacon cheeseburgers on the idiot box was too much to bear – soon, I was back into the American fold.

I suspect I won’t live as long eating red meat, but, I’ll be happier.

YRMV

FTC – I buy my own food, thank you very much!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “There’s A New Burgermeister In Town!

  1. I suspect I won’t live as long eating red meat, but, I’ll be happier.

    It’s been proven that happy people live longer so it’s probably a wash. If you want something that may be less than perfect for you ENJOY it.
    Everytime someone tells me that by doing X, I might be cutting my life short I reply, “Oh, the drooling years….”

    Posted by KM | April 17, 2014, 4:34 pm
  2. Can’t go wrong with a a good burger… :-)

    Posted by oldnfo | April 17, 2014, 5:57 pm
  3. Life’s too short, enjoy yourself while you can.

    Posted by Wilson | April 22, 2014, 6:09 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 395 other followers

