you're reading...
caliber, family, gun safe, guns, personal problem, safety, vault

Another Gun That Got Away

Not a woman, nor a fish (this time)…

I’ve recounted previously in these pages about my 800 pound safe having been stolen (in 2008), and the loss of 50+ firearms, parts, credit cards and personal papers and effects.

One of the firearms was not mentioned, as I knew nothing about her history, how she was acquired, or anything else.  I suspect my Father acquired her when his Father passed.  I’ve no idea of her origins.  Obviously the 1800s.

She resembled this, with a more visible trigger.  Her mainspring was broken, and she was in a little rougher condition.

2007-05-03 14.38.02I think there was a 3 digit serial number on the butt, however I’ve no idea what it was.  As none of the papers, credit cards or other firearms have surfaced, I still believe she is lost to history.

Thank God for the security of Fort Knox safes!

I’ve a number of recurrent themes in this blog.  One is secure your vault, even if it weighs a lot, to the floor and wall.

You never know.

Any ideas as to the kind of pistol?  Inquiring minds want to know!

FTC – Ft, Knox gave me nothing!  Go away!



About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.


10 thoughts on “Another Gun That Got Away

  1. Ardesa derringers tend to have brass chambers, but I haven’t seen any with non-brass barrels. Hmm.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | May 28, 2014, 8:27 am
  2. I keep thinking that safe is lying out in the desert somewhere, the thieves being unable to open it and too afraid to call a locksmith and too stupid to get a cutting torch.

    Posted by Matt (formerly Tall tree short rope blog) | May 28, 2014, 9:51 am
  3. Who knows… and I’ve never seen one of those either…

    Posted by oldnfo | May 28, 2014, 2:58 pm
  4. I know you are not asking for contributions, but what would you most want to replace out of what was stolen?

    Posted by James in Australia | May 31, 2014, 5:28 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

