you're reading...
annoyance, choices, customer service, guns, magazine, technology, training

BHP Magazine Disconnectors

Browning P 35I loves me Browning High Power pistols!

(I miss mine – sniff.)

BUT, it’s been said the trigger is much smoother without the magazine disconnector* in place.

To remove, or NOT to remove.  THAT is the question.

Part of me says that’s the way she was designed, ergo, keep her that way.  And train as if it is in place.  And another part of me says it’s unnecessary and makes the trigger pull clunkier – take it out!

(This is all moot to me, as my pistol is long gone.  But some friends have had theirs removed, others have not.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

h/t Clayton Cramer

 

*a device requested be installed by a military contractor to keep the  firearm from being fired if the magazine was removed.  This was reportedly done for safety.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “BHP Magazine Disconnectors

  1. “requested be installed by a military contractor” tells me maybe it wasn’t in the original design.
    I’d get rid of it – IF I owned a pistol with a disconnect, which I won’t.
    Lose a mag and have some ammo, I still have a single shot. Disconnect means you have a paperweight.

    I am aware of the anecdotes that use the ‘cop attacked, dropped the mag – it saved his life’ scenarios.
    If disabling your weapon is what saves your life, your tactics suck.

    Posted by KM | July 8, 2014, 11:01 am
  2. It wasn’t in John Moses Browning’s design or prototypes. Follow the four rules and it isn’t needed. I’d remove the thing if I had one.

    Posted by g2-cdb27520fb49967abcc1c55ca90a2fef | July 8, 2014, 8:22 pm
  3. Hmm.. I have taken the Series 80 firing pin disconnector in my Colt .45 out. I really can’t tell the difference.

    Posted by keads | July 9, 2014, 7:38 am
  4. I love BHP, but I detest magazine disconnects.

    Also, I had a S&W 9mm with a disconnect one time. Demonstrated to a friend at a range how the pistol wouldn’t fire without the mag – BANG! Disconnect failed without telling me and made me feel like a damn fool. So now I really detest magazine disconnects.

    Posted by Joel | July 10, 2014, 3:34 pm
  5. My only Hi-Power has one, I just don’t shoot it often enough to worry about it. If I was going to carry the gun I probably would have it removed along with trigger work.

    Posted by Wilson | July 11, 2014, 6:24 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 395 other followers

