you're reading...
analysis, basic, being human, celebrate, expectations, friends, grief, house, inconvenience, loss, neuroses, personal problem, personal responsibility, real world, whining less

Poor, Poor Pitiful Me

Yeah, it’s a song title, above.

Sometimes, I get down on myself, because I once had a wife, a daughter, a home, a ‘career’.

And now?

No wife, no daughter, no ‘career’ (I’m disabled).  I DO have share a home, though.

And that’s my point.

Living Freedom recently had a posting entitled

Poverty vs poverty: Seven traits of the successful poor

It mentioned traits of folks down-on-their-luck who, if they are not thriving, do more than just survive.

I could have been worse off than I am.  I lost my home as my income decreased, and a good friend took me in.

But, that’s not my point.

MY POINT IS I’M GRATEFUL FOR HER HAVING DONE SO!

Certainly, I wish things could be different.  It would be nice to have a wife, to have my daughter back.  To have my house back.  To have the income I once had.

But, not being a child, I know wishing doesn’t make it so.

So (most days) I choose GRATITUDE!

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Poor, Poor Pitiful Me

  1. And you choose to live within your means. MUCH different than many… And yes kudos to your friend!

    Posted by Old NFO | August 13, 2014, 9:02 am
  2. Simply living within your means is a big deal, these days – and most don’t know how.

    Posted by Rev. Paul | August 13, 2014, 10:29 am
  3. If I’ve learned one lesson in life, it is to get up every morning, and start putting one foot in front of the other. Much like my late friend, Dirty Al Imhoff, had tattooed under his heart, “Marche ou crève” .

    Posted by WellSeasonedFool | August 14, 2014, 10:56 am
  4. Many of us here, have been where we had everything, then lost it. I’ve outlived my only two siblings, two parents, and a baby that didn’t quite make it full term. I’ve been unemployed due to a employer Chapter 7 and lost my house. It sometimes seems seriously bleak. But you know Guffaw, you have learned, as have many of us, it’s what you do with what’s left that matters, that leaves an impression on folks. What you have done with the gifts you still have, and the blessing of your friendship to many people, may not make you a rich man, but it makes all of us richer for knowing you.

    Posted by Brigid | August 16, 2014, 6:16 am
  5. “I choose gratitude” – And that’s where you win over so many who, instead of being grateful, live demanding what in reality are gifts and privileges not entitlements.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | August 18, 2014, 9:36 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

