you're reading...
agenda, analysis, bloggers, censorship, crime, dysfunction, fairness, growth, personal responsibility

This Blog Is NOT A Democracy!

It IS a monarchy, with oligarchic tendencies.

What I write and post (or borrow steal and post) is entirely up to me.  I write about my experience with firearms, libertarian politics, government intrusion on our rights and my family and friends.

I’m quite proud that anyone bothers to stop by, and the fact I’ve followers and readers all over still astounds me.  A woman in Pakistan and another in India, and many military personnel have read here.

Thank you again for stopping by! 

Now to the oligarchic part.  I trust in a small cadre of regular readers opinions.  Not just the occasional comment on some random post, but I respect their judgement.  Some have even become friends and counselors off blog, much to my surprise and pleasure.

I recently received a follower request from Steven D. Jennings of  Stone City Blog Network.  This is a group of correspondents and bloggers doing so from prison.

Now, I don’t begrudge prison populations from trying to better themselves, nor do I pretend to understand what it must be like ‘inside’.  And prison populations have increased something like ten-fold over the past 40 years, largely due to ‘victimless’ crimes like personal marijuana use.  Mr. Jennings admittedly is doing 43 years for multiple assaults.  NOT a victimless crime.

The question is, should I allow him and network access, knowing that recidivism is a very real concern, and that many behind bars crave information they might use, like firearms training and escaping restraints – both addressed multiple times in this blog?  (One of my previous posts viewed recently was how to get out of zip ties!  Coincidence?)

What do YOU think?

I want to be ‘fair’, but I don’t want political correctness to mar an otherwise positive blog experience.  And, I suspect some folks who deserve to be incarcerated, but are not, read the Internet for such information, regardless.  So this is probably moot.

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “This Blog Is NOT A Democracy!

  1. Tough question.
    I only have anecdotal evidence, which would prompt me to say YES about accepting the request. But, I know the limitations of such evidence.

    I don’t know how the technical side of blogging works, so maybe there’s a way to block content that you might be concerned about?

    Or, (and this would be considerably more work for you) create a “duplicate” blog where you’ve eliminated such content?

    Based from the personal experiences of those I know who have done hard time, many are thirsty for knowledge, kindness, and ways to better themselves. They might be a tiny minority of the population, but they are there, and their options are very limited.

    Bottom line, I don’t think I’ve been any help to you at all. All I can say is that my impulse would be to say yes, whatever I can do to help. But, I would also have the same worries that you have.

    Posted by Tomi | December 29, 2014, 8:49 am
    • Well, any input is appreciated. I know the correspondent in question only had computer access once-a-week, and I’ve no idea if the ‘authorities’
      monitor his use. I would hope they do.
      We’ll see what happens.
      Most of what I copy is available elsewhere on the Internet, and my own thoughts aren’t dangerous enough (I don’t think) to prison authorities to have
      them censored.
      Of course, I may be wrong.

      Posted by guffaw1952 | December 29, 2014, 9:22 am
  2. Since I don’t know what a “follower request” is I can’t help you there. Go with your gut.

    many behind bars crave information they might use, like firearms training and escaping restraints
    They are in Gladiator Graduate School.
    They have more information available to them than we do on how agencies, officers and “the system” works…and most of that is first hand knowledge from people who have BTDT.

    Posted by KM | December 29, 2014, 11:19 am
  3. Good question, no good answer here, but I’d echo KM… They are getting info you and I can’t…

    Posted by Old NFO | December 29, 2014, 11:42 am
  4. ” and I’ve no idea if the ‘authorities’ monitor his use. ”

    Well there ya have it. Contact em.
    I never find anything on here that ain’t every where else.
    I just like finding it here.

    Posted by bobb topp | December 29, 2014, 7:59 pm
  5. I have misgivings about this, but … I don’t recall the 2A having restrictions re ex-cons. I don’t believe that having done your time makes for a better person, but the punishment has been completed. Additionally, consider the reality of where an ex-con lives, likely not the safest of neighborhoods, and one where the need for adequate self-defense is significantly more elevated. The fallacy of gun registration & permission slips from the state shines pretty bright here.

    Posted by David III | January 3, 2015, 8:21 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

