you're reading...
basic, blogging, cameras, celebrate, China, Christmas, compact, computer, gratitude, thank you

A Gift Of The Magi

…or at least from friends and family!  🙂

Whenever I get a windfall, I usually spend it on bills.  Or necessities.  Groceries.  Or one of those things, and perhaps a meal out.

This year, I did get a gift card or two, and some actual cash.  Not a lot, but more than I had previously(!)  I am blessed.

Instead of buying my annual collection of diabetic socks, or having a new edition of ‘Ed Sullivan’ (the really big shoe) built up, I opted for something a bit more frivolous.

Some time back, my roommate J gave me her old computer tablet.  It worked for about four months, when the on-off switch went South.  A common occurrence in this model, I’m told.  Also $200 to repair!  For a now three-year-old tablet.

For Christmas I bought myself an inexpensive, more up-to-date 9″ computer tablet!  With Android KitKat 4.4!

It doesn’t have very good cameras (I have a cell for that!), and it’s not bluetooth compatible, but it’s MINE!  Much lighter weight than the hand-me-down, fast, and with a quad processor.

Sadly, it’s of PRC manufacture.

But, with my gifts, I only had to pay the $7.98 for one day Amazon shipping!  I figure, if it breaks in a week, I’ve had a new tablet for eight bucks!

20141231_100129And, now I don’t have to use my cell phone to back-up blog if my PC fails!

20150101_070905

My Dragon Touch 9″ Tablet

 

Of course, as with buying a new gun, there are always tertiary accessories needed.  A screen protector and protective case!  (ordered this afternoon)!

🙂

THANKS, EVERYONE!

 

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “A Gift Of The Magi

  1. That sounds great – I’m happy for you! 🙂

    Posted by Rev. Paul | January 1, 2015, 11:22 am
  2. That’s great! Considering that a ‘delayed’ Christmas present?

    Posted by Old NFO | January 1, 2015, 12:50 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

