you're reading...
'everything that's old is new again', action, basic, civil war, common sense, enthusiam, errors-in-judgement, libertarianism, non-violence, paranoia, personal responsibility, survival, TEOTWAWKI, vigilance

“I’m A Prepper – He’s A Prepper…!”

OH!  A PREPPER!

I misheard…:-)

Mad Ogre recently expounded upon the concept, not just of being a prepper, but of being a dark prepper.

In part:

c/o Uprising USA.
Here’s the plan.
1.  Secure your HQ.
2.  Secure your local area.
3.  Secure your People.  Your Friends, Family, Loved ones… Those that may need help.  Elderly, Young, Infirm.  Make sure everyone is okay and has what they need to survive.
Now here’s where it gets gnarly…
4.  Secure additional assets and supplies to insure longevity.  Food, Medicines, other supplies and equipment.

Now comes the Dark part.

Now where I differ from the truly Dark, is that I would not use force on those that have the assets we’d be looking for.   Force would be only to defend.   This is all pretty clearly laid out in Uprising USA.  Moving further, in Uprising UK, there is a scene where assets were taken unknowingly from another survivor who hid when they came to get it.  When it was discovered that someone had a claim of ownership to the property, the person was fairly and justly compensated for what had been taken and an amiable conclusion was reached.

So really, maybe, I am not a Dark Prepper.  Just a humble procurer of that which sustains life… an amicable prepper.  A beneficent prepper.  A Magnanimous prepper…(end)

Are YOU prepping (in any sense of the word?)  Are you a DARK prepper?  How far are you willing to go to secure sustainability for you and your family and friends?

Or is this all just largely a mental exercise masturbation, a self-stroking cycle of like-minded folk, who like to play in the netherworld of TEOTWAWKI*?

Or is this about reasonableness?  Preparedness?  For natural disaster, fire, earthquake, hurricane?

And perhaps even extreme political disaster – like the monetary system failing and/or martial law being imposed?

Civil war?

As for me, I cannot afford to prep, much.  I was once – during Y2K.  The lady I was seeing, and her son had supplies, and arms.  And security.  And nothing happened.

Since that time, I’ve become disabled, and had to sell stuff.  And some of it was stolen.

But, I do have a couple firearms, and ammunition.  I figure that’s a good start.

The question remains, am I a DARK PREPPER?

The future will tell.

 

*TEOTWAWKI – The End Of The World As We Know It

 

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

10 thoughts on ““I’m A Prepper – He’s A Prepper…!”

  1. Quite a euphemism there. ‘Dark’ prepper sounds indistinguishable from thief and murderer to me.

    Posted by tweell | January 15, 2015, 8:39 am
  2. I’ll do what I must do…

    Posted by Old NFO | January 15, 2015, 1:16 pm
  3. I won’t take by force. I will share with the needy if possible. Just don’t try to take from ME by force. At that point it becomes self defense because it’s an issue of survival. I might reduce my chances of survival by the first two actions, but nobody gets to IMPOSE that on me.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | January 15, 2015, 2:19 pm
  4. You don’t have to be much of a prepper to put aside a couple gallons of water, a pound or so of dry beans and rice, some ramen noodles. When I was “preparing” i slowly put such items away, just spent a couple of dollars each payday on stuff to put away. When I wound up on furlough the same time my wife was unemployed and daughter and husband and two kids had to move in with us those preps came in mighty handy. I didn’t even have to raid the neighbors, a good thing since I fed some of them too. Now, things have normalized and I am slowing putting an item or two away as I can. No case lot purchases, no expensive bucket foods, just an extra can of tuna or some split peas now and then.

    Posted by Matt | January 16, 2015, 8:31 am

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

