you're reading...
action, agenda, annoyance, Bill of Rights, customer service, First Amendment, gun culture, Hollywood, hypocrisy, Second Amendment, TMCCC

Opinions Have Consequences

Back when I worked @ TMCCC, I befriended a guy I’ll call Batman.  Why Batman?  Well, he liked the Batman persona, dressed as him for Halloween and even his license plate was DRKNITE.

And he was something like 30 years of age.

He was one of the few ‘company’ friends who came and visited me in the hospital, after the accident.  He brought me a stuffed Marvin the Martian.  I still have it.  I honor his kindness.

Then, Life separated us; he went to Australia, and I did not.

Years later, I discovered he had repatriated, and we became friends on Facebook.  And made noises about getting together for lunch, or a drink.

Then, he started posting on FB about the nasty Second Amendment, and how none of us should be able to possess firearms.  Obviously, his couple of  years as a faux-Aussie took it’s toll.

I tried to dissuade him, first by posting about Our Constitutional freedoms, then, more directly in debate.  But to no avail.  He kept posting vile ideas about us being forced to give up our Rights.  Me giving up mine.

So, I unfriended him.  It was all I could do.

Now comes another foreign-influenced man, an actor, Liam Neeson.  From Ireland, I believe.

Of late, he been making popular movies regarding his wife (and/or daughter) being kidnapped.  And he rescuing them – being some-kind of agent/operative, and all.

Then this news story appears:

Speaking at the ‘Taken 3′ press conference in Dubai on Monday, the Irish-born star of ‘Schindler’s List’, who once again plays Bryan Mills in the final film of the trilogy, responded to a question about the Charlie Hebdo attacks in Paris last week, which he linked to gun violence in the US.

“There are too many fucking guns out there, especially in America,” said the 62-year-old. “I think the population is, like, 320 million? There are over 300 million guns. Privately owned, in America. I think it’s a fucking disgrace. Every week now we’re picking up a newspaper and seeing, ‘Yet another few kids have been killed in schools.’”

Reported by the Washington Post, Neeson added that there is a distinction between the violence of the movies and reality.

He said: “A character like Bryan Mills going out with guns and taking revenge: it’s fantasy. It’s in the movies, you know? I think it can give people a great release from stresses in life and all the rest of it, you know what I mean? It doesn’t mean they’re all going to go out and go, ‘Yeah, let’s get a gun!’”

Now, I’m all about the First Amendment, too, but, just like with Batman, I can take action.  We were not friends on Facebook (so I couldn’t unfriend him) but I can not support him by refusing to see-rent-buy his movies.

It was all I could do.

Fortunately, some others stand with me:

PARA USA, the company that rented the guns used by Neeson in “Taken 3″ (2014), his latest action film, has responded to the movie star’s recent anti-gun, anti-Second Amendment remarks by stating publicly that they will no longer be providing the weapons for his cinematic fantasy roles.

There is strength in numbers. people!

Listen up, Michael Douglas, Sylvester Stallone, Stephen King and your ilk.  I’m not against YOUR rights – why are you against mine?

h/t Never Yet Melted, HuffPo

About guffaw1952

I'm a child of the 50's. libertarian, now medically-retired. I've been a certified firearms trainer, a private investigator, and worked for a major credit card company for almost 22 years. I am a proud NRA Life Member. I am a limited-government, free-market capitalist, who believes in the U.S. Constitution and the Rule of Law.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Opinions Have Consequences

  1. I think it can give people a great release from stresses in life and all the rest of it, you know what I mean?

    Yeah I know exactly what you mean. I get the same escape from stresses in life by picking up my guns and getting in some target practice.
    Then I come home and find some self-centered bunghole refugee from Ireland spouting off nonsense on TV and trying to lecture the world on 500 year old technology. FO!!!
    The last person I am going to have lecture me on my rights is someone who hasn’t ever had them. If Liam ever gets a nickel from me it will be entirely, completely by accident.

    Posted by KM | January 18, 2015, 12:15 pm
  2. Note to Neeson – Felon up the hill just got snagged with guns. That’s a teeny bit against the law. So why don’t you go have a nice cuppa with all the other criminals and get them to obey the law and give up their guns. Because I’m sure as hell not giving up mine until every bad guy has given up his.

    Posted by ProudHillbilly | January 18, 2015, 8:58 pm
  3. Shooting, and shooting well is a zen moment… As far as Neeson, never again will anything he’s in get a penny of my money…

    Posted by Old NFO | January 19, 2015, 6:13 pm

Leave a Reply

"Round up the usual suspects."

In Loving Memory…

